DeNobrega pips John to win Ballot Box Martyrs cycling


Paul DeNobrega returned to winning ways on Sunday, pipping rival Briton John in the annual Ballot Box Martyrs 55-mile road race in Berbice.

The race started at Freedom House, New Amsterdam, proceeded to Corriverton and returned to the Number 63 Beach entrance for the finish.

DeNobrega of Team Evolution and John of United We Stand had an intense sprint to the line, but it was DeNobrega who crossed first, winning by the slightest of margins.

How the race ended. Paul DeNobrega is on the right

Below are the summarised results of the various categories


  1. Paul Denobrega (Team Evolution)
  2. Briton John (United We Stand)
  3. Christopher Griffith (Team Evolution)
  4. Curtis Dey (Team Evolution)
  5. Andre Greene (Kaieteur Attack Racing)
  6. Mario Washington


  1. Mario Washington
  2. Aaron Newton (United We Stand)
  3. Alexander Leung (United We Stand)
Clivecia Spencer won the Ladies category. She collects her prize from race official Joseph Britton


  1. Walter Grant Stuart (Kaiteur Attack Racing)
  2. Paul Choo-wee-nam (Team Alanis)
  3. Junior Niles (Team Coco’s)

Veterans Over-50:

  1. Talim Shaw
  2. Ian Jackson


  1. Clivecia Spencer (Team Coco’s)
  2. Marica Dick (United We Stand)



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.