Rampersaud, Sandia bowl Berbice U-19 to massive victory


Berbice Under-19 started the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) Inter-County Two-Day tournament with an innings and 31 runs victory over the Rising Stars Under-19 at the La Bonne Intention Cricket ground on Thursday.

Spinners Jonathan Rampersaud and Jeremy Sandia took a combined 15 wickets in the match to bowl out Rising Stars for 71 and 72.

The off-spin of Ramerpsaud accounted for 6-31 in the first innings to end with match figures of 8-53 from 27 overs while the left-arm spin of Sandia wrecked Rising Stars in the second innings with 6-27, for match figures of 7-37 from 21.4 overs.

Rampersaud Ramnauth top-scored in the first innings for Rising Stars with 28  from 92 balls and only Sanjay Algoo (20) and Ajay Gainda (10) were the other men to reach double figures.

In the second innings, Mayhiem Khan made 26, and Algoo (14) got a start in another unproductive batting display.

Berbice made 173 in their only innings, and while there were several starts, no one went to make a significant score.

Rashad Gaffoor struck a six and three fours in his top score of 31 from 89 balls followed by Romesh Baharat (24) and Leon Cecil unbeaten on 23.

The action continues Friday (July 22) when Demerara faces Essequibo at LBI from 09:00h.

According to a release from the GCB, from July 25-26, Berbice battles Demerara while the GCB Rising Star XI takes on Essequibo from July 27-28.

Demerara faces GCB Rising Star XI from  July 30-31 then Berbice will do battle against Essequibo in the final match on August 1.

All matches will now be played at the LBI ground because of the persistent rainfall that continues to hinder the preparation of cricket grounds across the country.

The Guyana Under-19 team will travel to St Vincent and the Grenadines for the Regional Under 19 tournament which starts on August 7 and only the Three-Day format will be played at this year.

Demerara U-19 squad: Nicholas Rajpat (Vice-Captain), Deonarine Dindyal, Ryan Latiff, Shemar Yearwood (Captain), Rivaldo Phillips, Sachin Balgobin, Anthon Lim, Nicholas Shiopersaud, Dave Mohabir, Chanderpaul Ramraj, Ryad Latiff, Kelvin Gordon, Jagdesh Dowlotram, Nehmiah Hoehenkirk

Essequibo Under-19 squad: Aryan Persaud (captain), Jared Allicock (V/Captain), Rajendra Ramballi, Devon Ramrattan, Abdool Nadir, Joash Charles, Natron Gill,  Govinda Tolsie, Mohandas Surajpaul,  Shaeed Khan, Quency Sampson, Roy Vansluytman, Ronaldo Schouten, Shaahq Viera

Reserve players: Delroy Mc Intire, Kumeshwar Suddin, Justin Sutton, Teddy Wong

Manager: Rayon De Costa and Coach:  Antony Adams




Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.