Guyana Amazon Warriors draft Campbell, Lewis for 6IXTY


West Indies players, John Campbell and Shermon Lewis have been signed by the Guyana Amazon Warriors for the new 6IXTY tournament, which gets underway at Warner Park, St. Kitts from August 24-28.

Those two players are temporary replacements for Imran Tahir and Tabraiz Shamsi, who will available for the Warriors’ campaign in the Hero Caribbean Premier League that starts on August 31.

Colin Ingram, Paul Stirling and Heinrich Klaasen will boost the batting of the Guyana Amazon Warriors with all-rounders Odean Smith and Romario Shepherd also in their squad.

Chris Gayle has joined St Kitts & Nevis Patriots and he will be joined at the Patriots by exciting openers Evin Lewis and Andre Fletcher as well as impressive South African youngster Dewald Brevis.

The Barbados Royals team will have the talents of Jason Holder, Kyle Mayers and Rakheem Cornwall along with overseas players Azam Khan, Harry Tector and Corbin Bosch.

The Jamaica Tallawahs team will feature captain Rovman Powell along with fellow Jamaicans Brandon King and Fabian Allen. Their overseas contingent will feature Mohammad Amir, Sandeep Lamichane and Chris Green.

A powerful Trinbago Knight Riders line up will feature Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell and Nicholas Pooran along with Sunil Narine and Ravi Rampaul. They will also have Tim Seifert and Seekkuge Prasanna in their squad.

The Saint Lucia Kings will feature Roston Chase and Kesrick Williams along with impressive young players Ackeem Auguste and Matthew Forde. New Zealander Scott Kuggeleijn will also be with the Kings for the 2022 6IXTY.

The tournament will see six men’s teams and three women’s teams competing for their own versions of the Universe Boss Trophy, named in honour of Chris Gayle and will feature a number of innovations to bring fans even closer to the action.

Fans can look forward to the following at The 6IXTY:

  • Each batting team has six wickets – at the fall of the sixth wicket they are all out
  • Each batting team has two PowerPlay overs. They can unlock a third PowerPlay by hitting two sixes in the first 12 balls. This extra PowerPlay over can be taken at any time between overs 3-9
  • There will be 30 balls bowled from one end before the action switches to the other end for the final 30 balls
  • The 30 balls will be delivered as 5 separate overs, with no bowler being able to bowl more than 2 overs for the innings.
  • If teams do not bowl their overs within the allotted time a member of their team is removed from the field for the final six balls
  • Fans will vote for the timing of a “Mystery Free Hit” where a batter can’t be dismissed by the bowler


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.