Massy Group to title sponsor Women’s CPL


Massy Group have confirmed that they will be the title sponsor for the inaugural Women’s Caribbean Premier League (WCPL), which gets underway on 31 August in St Kitts.

The Massy Women’s Caribbean Premier League (WCPL) will feature three teams, the Barbados Royals, Guyana Amazon Warriors and the Trinbago Knight Riders.

The teams will play each other in four exciting Twenty20 matches at Warner Park, one of the fastest-scoring grounds in world cricket.

The teams will be captained by Hayley Matthews (Barbados Royals), Stafanie Taylor (Guyana Amazon Warriors) and Deandra Dottin (Trinbago Knight Riders).

Each of the three Massy WCPL teams will have the best players from the region as well as exciting overseas players to round out their squads as women’s cricket is given huge exposure across the Caribbean and around the world.

“As one of the largest employers in the region, a significant percentage of our workforce is comprised of women. For some companies such as Massy Stores, which operates from 59 locations across the English-speaking Caribbean the workforce, is on average 70% female. That means that creating opportunities for women to grow and develop is integral to our business and inherent to our purpose. With sponsorship support which we hope will continue to grow for years to come, we believe that CPL will continue to develop this tournament to create opportunities for professional, Caribbean, female athletes,” commented Marc Rostant, Senior Vice President, Massy Motors who spoke on behalf of the Massy Group to announce the sponsorship.

Jamie Stewart, CPL’s Commercial Director, said: “When we set out to create the Women’s CPL, it was important to find a partner that would help build the profile and stature of the game and players around the region, with the ultimate goal of making them household faces. In Massy, one of the region’s great companies, we feel the WCPL has the perfect partner. Massy Group, via their stories spanning the eastern Caribbean, touch more people each day than any other company in the region. We thank the Group and the Stores and Auto divisions for believing in the vision, and look forward to working with them to give the region’s female stars the support and exposure they deserve.”

First started in 2013, the Hero Caribbean Premier League (CPL) is a franchise-based T20 format cricket tournament that combines two of the most compelling aspects of Caribbean life – dramatic cricket and a vibrant Carnival atmosphere. The broadcast and digital viewership has passed 500 million in both 2020 and in 2021 to make it one of the most watched leagues in world cricket. St Kitts & Nevis Patriots are the current Hero CPL champions and the other competing teams are Barbados Royals, Guyana Amazon Warriors, Jamaica Tallawahs, Saint Lucia Kings and Trinbago Knight Riders.

The 2022 men’s Hero CPL tournament will take place from 31 August to 30 September.

The host countries for 2022 will be St Kitts & Nevis, Saint Lucia, Trinidad & Tobago and Guyana.

In 2022, there will be the first running of the Massy Women’s Caribbean Premier League (WCPL) which will feature Barbados Royals, Guyana Amazon Warriors and Trinbago Knight Riders.
The WCPL will take place in St Kitts & Nevis from 31 August to 4 September. (CPLT20)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.