Guyana Hockey Board shortlists 38 for Junior Pan Am Championships 2023


The Guyana Hockey Board (GHB) has shortlisted a squad of 38 Under-21 men to begin preparations for the Pan American Junior Championships, scheduled for Barbados from April 10-18, 2023.

As part of their preparations a team of 18 players will be selected to travel to Barbados from December 7-12, 2022 to play a series of matches against Caribbean sides.

The team will be prepared by a trio of experienced former national players turned coaches in John Abrahams, Marisha Rodrigues and Robert Fernandes.

According to Head Coach of the national men’s programme, Robert Fernandes, several key members of the squad have been training with the senior national squad since February of this year in preparation for the CAC Games scheduled for June/July of 2023.

“We have been working with some of these players for the past six months in the senior national programme, however, I enjoy the challenge associated with preparing junior teams because it’s almost always a fresh set of players who have little to no international experience,” Fernandes explained.

“This squad has tremendous depth to complement the exceptional talents of players like Samuel Woodroffe, Shaquan Favorite and Shakeem Fausette. I believe we have the ingredients needed to prepare a quality team and I’m grateful to have John and Marisha onboard to share their knowledge and expertise.”

Shortlisted squad: Darious Alleyene (GK), Raoul Whittaker (GK), Shane Cruickshank (GK), Baraka Garnett, Christoph Crawford, Christopher Bethel, Daniel Woolford, David Massiah, Donnel Alleyne, Frederico Cush, Jabari Lovell, Jamal Gaskin, Javid Hussain, Joshua Bento, Keeland Cummings, Leroy Geer, Lucas Sargeant, Luis Adams, Nandalall Persaud, Naresh Mohadeo, Nkhruma Hutson, Nkosi Saul, Oshazay Savory, Quinn Tobin, Robert Marcus, Samuel Woodroffe, Seth Jeffrey, Shakeem Fausette, Shaquon Favorite, Simeon Moore, Stephen Ramkhelawan, Stephon Ramkhelawan, Tahrea Garnett, Theodore Thierens, Vladimir Woodroffe, Warren Williams, Yonnick Norton and Yusuf Brandt.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.