Alado wins Guyana Cup 2022; massive crowd ushers return of mega event


By Avenash Ramzan

The Guyana Cup horse race returned in grand style on Sunday with a massive crowd ushering in the mega event at the Rising Sun Turf Club.

The West Berbice venue was transformed into a colourful extravaganza, as Guyanese from all walks of life, as well as visitors to these shores soaked in a memorable day of racing.

The heat and dust that came with a sun-drenched day was a small price to pay for a pulsating eight-race card, staged by the Jumbo Jet Thoroughbred Racing Committee.

Click to view action photos

Click to view crowd photos

When the final race was completed in fading light, it was Alado of Master Z Racing Stable that emerged the new champion, winning the marque Guyana Cup one-mile event.

With jockey Colin Ross on the saddle, Alado pulled away on the final stretch, winning comfortably in the end to cart off the US$18,514 first prize and the huge Banks DIH trophy.

Ross was named Champion Jockey, winning that title for the fourth time at the Guyana Cup. He first won the award in 2008 aboard Sequin and back-to-back in 2017 and 2018 with Vera’s Finally, all out of the Jumbo Jet Stable.

The Jagdeo Racing Stable pair, Wild Texas Tom (US$9,185) and Our Stuie (US$4,520), took second and third respectively in a close finish, while Everesting (US$2,224) of Master Z Racing Stable finished fourth.

The main supporting clash- the E1 and Lower and horses bred in the USA sponsored by Associated Construction- was won by Early Bird (US$5,555) of R&R Syndicate, followed by Converter (US$2,777) of the Slingerz Racing Stable and Looking to Heaven (US$1,390) of Jumbo Jet Racing Stable in that order.

Other winners on the day were Face D’ Fire (J3 Non Starter and L Class Classic), Unsettled (G3 and Lower), Perfect Dream (J1 and Lower), Double Jet (Two-year-old Guyana Bred), Red Star (J3 Non Starter and L Class Classic) and Colour of Sacrifice (Three-year-old Derby).

Over G$20 million in cash and prizes was at stake.

Below are the summarised results

Race One- J3 Non Starter and L Class Classic (1100m)

Winner- Face D’ Fire (Owner: Azad Hussain)

Second- Cash N Carry (Owner: Cecil Evans)

Third- Foreign Link (Owner: Dexter Miles)

Fourth- Perfect Drift (Owner: Gillo Racing Stable)

Race Two- G3 and Lower (1400m)

Winner- Unsettled (Owner: Jumbo Jet Racing Stable)

Second- It’s My Choice (Owner: G. Singh)

Third- Goldon D’or (Owner: Zahir Khan)

Fourth- Marconi (Owner: Jagdeo Racing Stable)

Race Three- J1 and Lower (1400m)

Winner- Perfect Dream (Owner: Deleep Esreepersaud)

Second- Ebony Prince (Owner: Belwin Anderson)

Third- Trump (Owner: J. Daveanand)

Fourth- Sunday Silence (Owner: R. Mohanlall)

Race Four- Two-year-old Guyana Bred (1100m)

Winner- Double Jet (Owner: Jumbo Jet Racing Stable)

Second- GT Boss (Owner: Unstoppable Racing Stable)

Third- Legacy (Owner: Denzil Lewis)

Fourth- El Dorado Queen (Owner: C. Adams)

Race Five- J3 Non Starter and L Class Classic (1100m)

Winner- Red Star (Owner: Samsundar)

Second- Perfect Storm (Owner: J. Chandilall)

Third- Catholic Boy (Owner: Steffan Kanaya)

Fourth- Quiet Warrior (Owner: T. Mohabir)

Race Six- Three-year-old Derby (One mile)

Winner- Colour of Sacrifice (Owner: Shaun Mohammed)

Second- Like A Million (Owner: Jumbo Jet Racing Stable)

Third- Amazing Grace (Owner: PHVH Racing Stable)

Fourth- Black Time (Owner: Shocking Racing Stable)

Race Seven- E1 and Lower and horses bred in the USA (1100m)

Winner- Early Bird (Owner: R&R Syndicate)

Second- Converter (Owner: Slingerz Racing Stable)

Third- Looking to Heaven (Owner: Jumbo Jet Racing Stable)

Fourth- Regal Intension (Owner: Jumbo Jet Racing Stable)

Race Eight- Guyana Cup (One Mile)

Winner- Alado (Owner: Master Z Racing Stable)

Second- Wild Texas Tom (Owner: Jagdeo Racing Stable)

Third- Our Stuie (Owner: Jagdeo Racing Stable)

Fourth- Everesting (Owner: Master Z Racing Stable)

Already, planning has begun for the 15th staging of the Guyana Cup, set for August 13, 2023, at the same venue.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.