CPL 2022: Amazon Warriors need a win, and they need it now


For the first time since the 2017 season, Guyana Amazon Warriors are without a win after their first three matches of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL).

This season, death-bowling errors have handed them two defeats that prior to the last over, looked like a victory. Their other match was rained out.

Up next, is Match Four, against a confident St. Lucia Kings at the Daren Sammy Cricket Ground on Saturday from 19:00h.

Though the Warriors are still well within the realm of qualification, a defeat on Saturday would make that road very difficult, as they would ideally need to win all of their six remaining matches, four of which are at home.

Kings lost some momentum on Thursday evening when they lost to the unbeaten Barbados Royals after topping Jamaica Tallawahs the night before.

Guyana Amazon Warriors need to hit their straps and find a way to win or it could be goodbye before they reach home (Photo: Avidesh Narine)

Skipper Faf du Plessis said he is cognizant of the Warriors’ wish to gain some momentum and the Kings would look not to ensure that happens as they look for a second win of the season.

The South African contended dew will be a major factor and it could potentially nullify the serious spin-threat of the Warriors.

Even in the morning match on Thursday, spinner Imran Tahir was not at his effective best as he went for 1-41 in four overs.

On the other hand, captain Shimron Hetmyer will not stop short of supporting his players, especially key all-rounder Romario Shepherd, who failed to defend 22 off the final over on Thursday.

Hetmyer said it is a learning experience and the players need to execute their skills and plans.

If history tells us one thing, all is not lost as during that 2017 season they qualified with 10 points and were knocked out just before the final.

Will history repeat itself? Time will tell.

Guyana Amazon Warriors squad: Shimron Hetmyer (captain), Imran Tahir, Tabraiz Shamsi, Odean Smith, Romario Shepherd, Colin Ingram, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Paul Stirling, Shai Hope, Heinrich Klaasen, Keemo Paul, Jermaine Blackwood, Gudakesh Motie, Ronsford Beaton, Veerasammy Permaul, Junior Sinclair, Matthew Nandu.

St. Lucia Kings squad: Faf du Plessis (captain), Roston Chase, Johnson Charles, Kesrick Williams, Alzarri Joseph, Mark Deyal, Jeavor Royal, Tim David, David Wiese, Scott Kuggeleijn, Matthew Forde, Leroy Lugg, Preston McSween, Larry Edwards, Ackeem Auguste, Rivaldo Clarke

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.