Inter-County 50-Over: Johnson to captain Demerara; ‘Tage’ named Vice-captain


National captain Leon Johnson will lead Demerara with Tagenarine Chanderpaul as his deputy for the upcoming Senior Inter-County tournament organized by the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB).

A release from the Demerara Cricket Board (DCB) on Monday further indicated that Puneet Jaigopaul is the Manager while Guyana Harpy Eagles’ Assistant Coach, Ryan Hercules, is the appointed Coach.

The 14-man squad includes five other players – Christopher Barnwell, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Akshaya Persaud, Ronaldo Alimohamed and Tevin Imlach – with experience at the senior national level.

Tagenarine Chanderpaul has been given leadership responsibilities (Photo: CWI) 

The Inter-County tournament is expected to commence on Monday, October 10, and potentially serves as the benchmark for selection to the National squad for the Regional Super50 that starts later this month.

When the Inter-County tournament was last held in September 2014, Berbice defeated Demerara in the final by 10 runs at the Georgetown Cricket Club, Bourda.

Demerara 50-over squad: Leon Johnson (Captain), Tagenarine Chanderpaul (Vice-captain), Chandrapaul Hemraj, Tevin Imlach, Jeremiah Scott, Akshaya Persaud, Steven Sankar, Christopher Barnwell, Ashmead Nedd, Richie Looknauth, Ronaldo Alimohamed, Qumar Torrington, Derick Mc Calmont, Sachin Singh

Reserves: Shamar Yearwood, Alvin Mohabir, Larrel Parks, Anthony Lim, Carlos La Rose Joshua Persaud



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.