Pooran steps into the limelight as 16 captains launch ICC T20 World Cup

- Pooran joined the other captains on Saturday to launch the ‘Big Show’ and the stage is now set for the marquee cricket event of the year.


West Indies skipper Nicholas Pooran was among the 16 men in charge as they made history, coming together in Melbourne, Australia – one of the world’s iconic sporting cities. This was the first time all captains came together at an ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

The Captains’ Day marks the start of the eighth edition of the event that promises to keep more than a billion cricket fans across the globe on the edge of their seats from start to finish.

Team captains pose for a photograph ahead of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup on October 15, 2022 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Daniel Pockett/Getty Images)

Pooran is charged with leading the West Indies as they go in search of an unprecedented third title.

Daren Sammy was at the helm in 2012 and 2016 when the West Indies lifted the trophy, making the ‘Men in Maroon’ the only team to win the coveted title twice.

Pooran told the audience: “To be honest, I don’t feel like there’s a lot of pressure…we believe that we are a new group of guys, yes, we are new when it comes to T20 cricket. We start at the bottom…think we have the toughest way to the World Cup, and the guys understand that. I keep telling them it may be a blessing in disguise for us to start in the qualifiers first. Obviously everyone knows when you want something you have to work really hard for it.”

He added: “But yes, we want to qualify, and obviously there’s some pressure, as well, but the guys are not thinking about that. We just want to focus on ourselves and try to play the best cricket we can.”

Nicholas Pooran speaking at Captains’ Day

The big event gets underway on Sunday at 3pm local time when Sri Lanka face Namibia at Kardinia Park Stadium in Geelong in Group A.

It will be followed by the United Arab Emirates against the Netherlands at 7pm local time. This marks the first of 45 matches over 28 days with the champions to be crowned at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on November 13.

West Indies will bowl off their campaign on Monday against Ireland at the Bellerive Oval in Hobart. First ball is 3pm local time (12 midnight Eastern Caribbean/11pm Jamaica).

The two teams are in Group B alongside Zimbabwe and Scotland. The two top teams in the preliminary round will advance to the Super12s stage of the event.


Round One

Group A: Sri Lanka, United Arab Emirates, the Netherlands, and Namibia

Group B: Scotland, West Indies, Zimbabwe, and Ireland

(Top two teams from each group advance to Super 12s)

Round One – Match Schedule (all played at Bellerive Oval, Hobart)

October 17: West Indies v Scotland – 3pm (12 midnight Eastern Caribbean/11pm Jamaica on October 16)

October 19: West Indies v Zimbabwe – 7pm (4am EasternCaribbean/3am Jamaica)

October 21: West Indies v Ireland – 3pm (12 midnight Eastern Caribbean/11pm Jamaica on October 20)

Super 12s

Group 1: England, Australia, New Zealand, Afghanistan, A1 and B2.

Group 2: India, Pakistan, Pakistan, South Africa, A2 and B1.

(Top two teams from each group advance to the semi-finals)


November 9:  SCG, Sydney

November 10: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

FINAL – November 13: MCG, Melbourne (CWI)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.