Eagles vs Warriors in Big Man Cricket final on Saturday at Bourda


The exciting Big Man Cricket (BMC) T25, Over-45 tournament will culminate this Saturday (October 22) at the world-renowned Georgetown Cricket Club (GCC) ground, Bourda, starting at 11:00h.

The BMC organisation, in a statement press release, said: “The tournament has endured many stops and starts over the past year and a half due to the prolonged periods of unfavorable weather conditions coupled with the COVID pandemic and its restrictions. This long-awaited final should witness an intense battle for championship honours when Essequibo Eagles do battle with the West Bank Warriors.”

West Bank Warriors had earlier in the year brushed aside Georgetown Royal Rangers in the first semi-final, while Essequibo Eagles made light work of Jai Hind Jaguars in the other semi-final.

Essequibo Eagles squad: Bhesham Seepersaud (Captain), Ramesh Narine (Vice-Captain), Latchmikant Narine, Davenand Madadeo, Ritchie Bishop, Indar Rampersaud, Dharmendra Lakhan, Linden Daniels (Player/Asst. Manager), Rayburn Gonsalves (Player/Coach), Manoj Lall, Jainantilall Lall, Balbadar, Ishwar Singh, Raj Rambarack, Deopaul Drepaul, Darshanan Lall, Trevis Simon (Player/Manager), Kurt Jones, Barry Alphonso, Fazeer Khan and Dharamdeo Lall.

Members of the West Bank Warriors pose for a team photo before a game

West Bank Warriors squad: Seecharran Persaud (Captain), Ganesh Persaud (Vice-Captain), Eion Williams, Sohan Bedessee, Steve Haripaul, Seenarine Mathura, Kallicharran, Rahim Hussain, Ravi Persaud, Patrick Khan, Mohamed Abid Haniff, Deoram Persaud, Ramtulsie, Anthony Ifill, Patrice Stuart, Chanderpaul Singh and Andrew Ian Budhan (Player/Manager).

“The inaugural BMC T25 tournament got started last February with the primary purposes being to have masters cricket played in a structured manner and to unearth and develop a pool of local players to feed into Cricket West Indies Masters Association (CWIMA) with players vying for international assignments, including bilateral series, tri-series, quadrilateral and Masters Cricket World Cup tournaments,” BMC added.

“The long-term goals are to give retired players an avenue towards extending their playing days in meaningful ways and to promote healthier lifestyles among citizens.”

BMC further stated that title sponsor Banks DIH Limited, through its Banks Beer and Maximum Vodka brands, has embraced this concept and was thrilled at the level of participation and competition throughout the tournament.

Notably, the organisers have promised to commence the second edition of the tournament, immediately following the conclusion of the final.

“BMC-GY is proud to have initiated live streaming of local matches in Guyana and, once again, at Bourda will have prominent commentators Clyde Butts, Inderjeet Persaud, Matthew Kissoon and Mikoowanyah Yosef-Yisrael calling the action, with Sunil Ramlall beaming the camera works. Andrew Singh is the lead technician. The umpires will be Linden Matthews and Mark Scott, while the indefatigable Grantley Culbard will serve as the Match Referee. The official scorer will be Ronaldo McGarrell,” BMC outlined.

The winning team is set to pocket G$300,000, while the losing finalist will receive G$200,000. There are many individual prizes and trophies up for grabs, including for the player with the most runs, wickets, highest individual score and best bowling figures.

The tournament is sponsored by David Persaud Investments Limited, WJ Enterprise, Cricket Zone USA, Panko Steel Fabrication, NALICO/NAFICO, P&P Insurance Brokers, Trophy Stall, Game Xpress, Paul Archer- Loss Control and Risk Management, Timothy’s Motorcycle Spares, Readymix Concrete Limited, RS53 Restrobar and Lounge and Premier Insurance.

Freelancer Advertising Agency is the live streaming and commentary partner for the tournament.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.