Justin Ten Pow, Nobrega lead Guyana’s impressive showing in Suriname MotoCross


Justin Ten Pow and Steven Nobrega emerged overall champions of their respective categories at the Horse Power MotoCross Race at the Vasilda Practice Facility in Suriname.

Ten Pow was adjudged overall winner of both the A and B classes of the 85cc segment, while Nobrega topped the 125cc class.

Justin Ten Pow (left) and Steven Nobrega

Such was Ten Pow’s dominance that he copped three first place finishes in four races, while Nobrega finished with a first and a second in the 122cc and a second in the A Class of the 250cc.

Ten Pow swept the B Class of the 85cc, while winning one of the A class races and ending second in the other.

Justin Ten Pow (#16) in action (Photo: Facebook)

The other Ten Pow sibling- Jeremy- also impressed in the 125cc, winning one race, which was decided by a photo finish, and ending second behind Nobrega in the other.

Although Jeremy and Nobrega both finished with a win and a second place finish in the 125cc, the latter was named overall champion by securing more points.

Steven Nobrega (#221) and Jeremy Ten Pow (#61) in a close battle (Photo: Facebook)

Other Guyanese who finished with podium spots were Daniel Narine (one second), Leshon Lewis (one second) and Ben Phang (one third)

Notably, Nicholas Narine may have also missed out on a podium spot for Guyana, as while in third spot in his race, he slowed to an almost stop to check on a young rider who fell.

Jeremy Ten Pow (Photo: Facebook)

Below is a summary of Guyana’s performance

85cc A Class

1st– Justin Ten Pow (Guyana)

2nd– Faroek Asruf (Suriname)

3rd– Enrico Sarimoen (Suriname)

The event had its moments of spills (Photo: Facebook)

85cc A Class

1st– Kevin Amatmeokrim (Suriname)

2nd– Justin Ten Pow (Guyana)

3rd– Enrico Sarimoen (Suriname)

85cc B Class

1st– Justin Ten Pow (Guyana)

2nd– Danny Narine (Guyana)

3rd– Ben Phang (Guyana)

85cc B Class

1st– Justin Ten Pow (Guyana)

2nd– Leshon Lewis (Guyana)

3rd– Riphien Sanwirjatmo (Suriname)

125cc Class

1st– Steven Nobrega (Guyana)

2nd– Jeremy Ten Pow (Guyana)

3rd– Shifaiz Asruf (Suriname)

125cc Class

1st– Jeremy Ten Pow (Guyana)

2nd– Steven Nobrega (Guyana)

3rd– Shannon Zschuschen (Suriname)

250cc Class

1st– Milan Sedjo (Suriname)

2nd– Steven Nobrega (Guyana)

3rd– Shifaiz Asruf (Suriname)

Members of the Guyana contingent proudly display their winnings

The full Guyana racing contingent was Steven Nobrega, Jeremy Ten Pow, Justin Ten Pow, Daniel Narine, Nicholas Narine, Laquan Jackson, Leshon Lewis, Ben Phang and David DeNobrega.

Meanwhile, plans are in the pipeline for the development of a MotoCross track in Guyana, so that the country can host similar events in the future.

Team Guyana would like to express gratitude to everyone who played a part in ensuring a successful weekend of racing in the neighbouring Dutch-speaking nation.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.