FOUR-DAY: Smith (5-31) bowls Harpy Eagles to massive win over Pride

SUMMARY: Guyana Harpy Eagles 371 all out from 121.1 overs (Matthew Nandu 126, Kevin Sinclair 43, Veerasammy Permaul 37, Leon Johnson 26, Kemol Savory 25, Shamar Joseph 20; Jair McAllister 3-43, Chaim Holder 3-72, Akeem Jordan 2-54) and 126-9 declared from 44.1 overs (Veerasammy Permaul 33; Akeem Jordan 3-32, Keon Harding 3-37) vs Barbados Pride 220-9 from 91.2 overs (Shayne Moseley 65, Shamarh Brooks 51, Shamar Springer 35*; Veerasammy Permaul 4-53, Shamar Joseph 3-65, Kevin Sinclair 2-33) and 94 all out from 36 overs (Jonathan Drakes 36, Akeem Jordan 20; Nial Smith 5-31, Ronsford Beaton 2-12, Veerasammy Permaul 2-18)


Guyana Harpy Eagles started the West Indies Four-Day Championship with a commanding 183-run victory over defending champions Barbados Pride on Saturday at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in North Sound, Antigua.

Click to view full scoreboard

Fast bowler Nial Smith was the standout bowler for Harpy Eagles on the last day, taking five wickets as Pride folded for 94 chasing a target of 278.

It was Smith’s third five-wicket haul in 12 First-Class matches, the 27-year-old rocking the Bajans’ top order and then cleaning up the ‘tail.’

Ronsford Beaton took 2-12 and left-arm spinner Veerasammy Permaul 2-18 for match figures of 6-71. Permaul also made crucial contributions with the bat, scoring 37 and 33.

The 33-year-old, in his 17th season of First-Class cricket, also picked up his 500th First-Class wicket for Guyana on day three.

Jonathan Drakes topscored for Pride with 36 and Akeem Jordan made 20.

Harpy Eagles started the day on 91-8 and an overall lead of 242 after gaining a huge first innings lead of 151.

They eventually declared 126-9 when Permaul was dismissed for 33 off 49 balls (2x4s), ending a ninth wicket partnership of 36 with Smith, who remained unbeaten on 12 off 47 balls.

Seam pair Akeem Jordan and Keon Harding took 3-32 and 3-37 respectively.

The Harpy Eagles will now travel to Grenada to face host Windward Islands Volcanoes from February 8 at the Grenada National Stadium.

Other Round Two games will see Leeward Islands Hurricanes against Trinidad and Tobago Red Force at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua and Jamaica Scorpions versus Barbados Pride at the Coolidge Cricket Ground, also in Antigua.

Below are the summarised scores from the other two First Round games

At the Grenada National Stadium: Windward Islands Volcanoes and Trinidad and Tobago Red Force play to a draw

SUMMARY: Windward Volcanoes 243 all out from 63.1 overs (Tevyn Walcott 87*, Sunil Ambris 55, Alick Athanaze 41, Ryan John 36; Bryan Charles 4-46, Terrance Hinds 4-72) and 425-5 declared from 113.4 overs (Kimani Melius 192, Kavem Hodge 80, Sunil Ambris 55*, Alick Athanaze 51; Bryan Charles 2-92) versus Trinidad and Tobago Red Force 315 all out from 92.1 overs (Amir Jangoo 86, Tion Webster 79, Hinds 52, Darren Bravo 38, Jeremy Solozano 34; Ryan John 5-18, Darius Martin 2-80) and 225-7 from 83 overs (Jason Mohammaed 79*, Tion Webster 58; Ryan John 3-27)

At Coolidge Cricket ground: Jamaica Scorpions and Leeward Islands Hurricanes play to a draw

SUMMARY: Leeward Islands Hurricanes 260 all out from 118.3 overs (Jeremiah Louis 78*, Jahmar Hamilton 40, Montcin Hodge 37; Marquino Mindley 3-28, Abhijai Mansingh 3-47) and 241 all out from 73.5 overs (Rahkeem Cornwall 85; Jamie Merchant 4-43) vs Jamaica Scorpions 234 all out from 82.4 overs (Leroy Lugg 79, Abhijai Mansingh 56, Paul Palmer 47; Rahkeem Cornwall 5-54) and 200-9 from 82 overs (Abhijai Mansingh 62*, Jamie Merchant 47; Rahkeem Cornwall 5-41)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.