Final two members of Teaching Service Commission sworn in


Two final members of the Teaching Service Commission (TSC) took their oath before President Irfaan Ali on Friday.

The swearing-in ceremony for Satti Jaisiersingh and Lancelot Baptiste, was held at the President’s Shiv Chanderpaul Drive, Georgetown Office.

In his remarks, President Ali said the government is making a conscious decision to ensure that the teaching profession is fair and of acceptable standards.

“I want to congratulate you and wish you well on this journey as we seek to further strengthen our education system. We seek to ensure we build an institutional environment in which our teachers are treated fairly, in which the process continues to improve and deliver in a manner in which all can find acceptable standards,” President Ali said.

He added, “This is an important part of good governance.”

The pair are now part of seven members who make up the Commission. The other five persons, Maydha Persaud, Doodmattie Singh, Joan Ann Davis-Monkhouse, Shafiran Bhajan and Hussain, were sworn in last December.

Now that the Commission is fully constituted, they are expected to meet to decide on a Chairperson and a Deputy Chairperson. The Teaching Service Commission, under the Constitution of Guyana, has the mandate to appoint, exercise disciplinary actions and remove teachers of non-board schools. It was reported that the last TSC had only completed the 2020 promotions of senior teaching staff.

Previously, Dr Ali said, “Teachers are not only indispensable but vital to fashioning responsible citizenship…Given this, great care and attention are taken to make appointments.” He also cautioned the new Commissioners that all appointments and promotions must be fair and just.




Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.