From 24 to 48 teams: Petra Organisation expands Milo Schools football competition


The ninth Milo Schools Under-18 Football tournament will be the biggest with a move from 24 to 48 teams that will see representation from eight of the 10 administrative regions.

Held in association with Massy Distribution, the tournament was launched Monday at Massy’s Montrose, East Coast Demerara, location.

The tournament, which over the years has been a launchpad for both junior and senior national players, now gives a wider pool to local scouts, given its expansion.

Co-Director of the Petra Organisation, Troy Mendonca, related it has always been a goal to accommodate more teams outside of Georgetown.

Additionally, this edition sees the return of private institutions, which last featured in 2016.

Mendonca indicated that over the years they held meeting with senior officials from both the Education Ministry and the Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sport, and a criteria was developed that for private schools, the players must be registered at the beginning of the school year and they must show evidence of writing at least two CSEC subjects.

However, of 48 teams, only 32 will contest the group stage after an elimination segment based on seeding.

From the eight groups of four, the top two will progress to the knockout rounds.

Nestle’s Senior Business Unit Manager, Teisha Milner, explained they see this partnership as way more than just Corporate Social Responsibility, as it is one that aids in the development of students.

Africo Selman, Advisor to the Minister of Education, applauded Petra for their continued efforts to incorporate school football into their programmes and highlighted these and sport activities are part of the Ministry’s goal to nurture rounded students.

Selman encouraged the footballers to ensure they also pay a keen interest in excelling in academics.

Communications Officer of the Guyana Football Federation, Keeran Williams, thanked Petra for being a key partner in the development of youth football. He further revealed they will soon launch a massive school football programme.

The organisers hope to start on February 25 and conclude by April month-end with match days being Saturdays and Sundays at the Ministry of Education ground, Carifesta Avenue.

The top four teams will be rewarded with G$300,000, G$200,000, G$100,000 and G$75,000 respectively towards school projects.

The lads of Christianburg/Wismar Secondary are the two-time defending champions after a comprehensive 3-1 victory over North Ruimveldt Secondary in August 2022.

Participating schools:

Region One: Santa Rosa Secondary

Region Two: Eight of May Secondary, Cotton Field Secondary

Region Three: Vreen-en-Hoop Secondary, Westminster Secondary, Stewartville Secondary, Patentia Secondary, West Demerara Secondary, Uitvlugt Secondary, Vergenogen Secondary

East Coast Demerara: Annandale Secondary, Ann’s Grove Secondary, Golden Grove Secondary, President’s College

East Bank Demerara: St. Cuthbert’s Mission, Dora Secondary

Georgetown: The Bishops’ High, Carmel Secondary, Charlestown Secondary, North Ruimveldt Secondary, Cummings Lodge Secondary, East Ruimveldt, Chase Academic Foundation, Morgan’s Learning Centre, Marian Academy, New Central High Secondary St. Joseph High School, Dolphin Secondary, Tucville, Secondary, Queen’s College, St. Stanislaus College, Lodge Secondary, West Ruimveldt Secondary, Freeburg Secondary, St. Winifred Secondary, St, John’s College, Queenstown Secondary

Region Five: Bush Lot Secondary, Bygeval Secondary

Region Six: Berbice Education Institute, Canje Secondary, Berbice High School, New Amsterdam Secondary, Manchester Secondary

Region Seven: Bartica Secondary

Region Ten: Christianburg Wismar Secondary, McKenzie Secondary

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.