Patrick Haynes first Guyanese to be elected President of CONCENCABA


Guyana Basketball Federation (GBF) General Secretary, Patrick Haynes, has been elected President of the Central American and Caribbean Basketball Confederation (CONCENCABA), becoming the first Guyanese to be elected to the post.

Haynes ran against former Caribbean Basketball Confederation (CBC) president Glyne Clarke of Barbados for the position at the CONCENCABA Assembly and Elections on Tuesday in Miami.

He will also serve as the FIBA Americas’ First Vice-President.

Modesto Robeldo of Mexico, president of the Confederación Centroamericana de Baloncesto (COCABA) will serve as Haynes’ First Vice-President, while Interim president of the Caribbean Basketball Confederation (CBC), Leslie Collymore of St. Lucia is the Second Vice-President.

Sabrina Mitchell of St. Vincent and the Grenadines is the CONCENCABA Secretary.

The CBC ‘At Large Members’ are Claire Mitchell (Trinidad and Tobago) and Kenneth Vrojijk (Aruba), while the COCABA ‘At Large Members’ are Jair Peralta (Panama) and Frank Martinez Arias (Costa Rica).

The GBF was represented by Vice-President Rawle Toney and Technical Director Sileena Arjune at the important CONCENCABA event at the Novotel Hotel in Miami.

Founded in 1926, CONCENCABA is a body of FIBA Americas with mirrored powers and responsibilities for its geographic region.

CONCENCABA recognises the superior authority of FIBA and FIBA Americas.

Subject to the overriding authority of FIBA and FIBA Americas, CONCENCABA is the only competent authority to promote the practice of basketball and to organise competitions within the Sub-Zone of Central America and the Caribbean.

Currently, the National Member Federations assigned to CONCENCABA by the FIBA Central Board are: Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, Belize, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Montserrat, Nicaragua, Panama, Puerto Rico, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, and the Virgin Islands.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.