Guyana in Group C of Concacaf Women’s U-20 Championship Qualifiers


Guyana has been drawn in Group C of the 2023 Concacaf Women’s Under-20 Championship Qualifiers, scheduled for April 14-23.

The draw took place at the Concacaf headquarters in Miami, Florida, on Thursday morning. In Group C with Guyana are the Dominican Republic, Suriname, Grenada and Dominica.

“A total of 32 teams were split into six total groups, with two groups consisting of six teams and four groups with five teams each,” Concacaf said.

“Each team will play one match against all its group opponents in round-robin play. The winner of each group will advance to the 2023 Concacaf Women’s Under-20 Championship in the Dominican Republic, which will take place May 24-June 3.”

The results of the Draw are as follows:

Group A: Canada, El Salvador, Cuba, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Martinique, US Virgin Islands

Group B: Haiti, Panama, St. Kitts and Nevis, Curacao, St. Maarten, Bahamas

Group C: Dominican Republic, Guyana, Suriname, Grenada, Dominica

Group D: Puerto Rico, Trinidad and Tobago, Cayman Islands, Antigua and Barbuda, Guadeloupe

Group E: Jamaica, Honduras, Bermuda, Anguilla, French Guiana

Group F: Costa Rica, Guatemala, Nicaragua, St. Lucia, Belize

Concacaf said it will announce the match schedule in the coming days.

2023 Concacaf Women’s U-20 Qualifiers 

The qualifiers for the revamped 2023 CWU20C are scheduled to take place April 14-23 and will include 32 Concacaf member associations (all ranked between 3-41).

Following round-robin play, where each member association will play one match against each of the other member associations in the same group, the group winners (six teams) will all advance to the CWU20C’s group stage in the Dominican Republic.

The member associations which have confirmed their participation in the qualifiers are, in alphabetical order: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Belize, Bermuda, Canada, Cayman Islands, Costa Rica, Cuba, Curacao, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, French Guiana, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Martinique, Nicaragua, Panama, Puerto Rico, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, St. Maarten, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago and US Virgin Islands.

After the draw, Concacaf will confirm the schedule, countries and stadiums which will host qualifying matches.

In the previous edition of the Concacaf Women’s U-20 Championship, also played in the Dominican Republic, in 2022, the United States won its seventh title after defeating Mexico 2-0 in the final.

In the third-place match, Canada topped Puerto Rico 2-0 to secure a birth for the 2022 FIFA Women’s Under-20 World Cup in Costa Rica. (Modified from Concacaf)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.