Johnson Charles scores 79* to lead Comilla Victorians to fourth BPL title

SUMMARY: Sylhet Strikers 175-7 from 20 overs (Mushfiqur Rahim 74*, Najmul Hossain Shanto 64; Mustafizur Rahman 2-21) vs Comilla Victorians 176-3 off 19.2 overs (Johnson Charles 79*, Litton Das 55; Rubel Hossain 2-39)


Johnson Charles made a spectacular 79* to lead the Comilla Victorians to a seven-wicket victory over the Sylhet Strikers in the final of the Bangladesh Premier League at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on Thursday.

The Strikers made 175-7 from their 20 overs after the Victorians won the toss and elected to field first.

Mushfiqur Rahim led the way with an unbeaten 74 off 48 balls, including five fours and three sixes.

Earlier, opener Najmul Hossain Shanto made a 45-ball 64, including nine fours and a six. Pacer Mustafizur Rahman took 2-21 off his four overs for the Victorians.

The Victorians then needed 19.2 overs to reach their target, with the chase being led by half-centuries from Charles and opener Litton Das.

Das made a 39-ball 55 (7x4s, 1×6) to lay the foundation for Charles.

The St. Lucian’s innings lasted 52 balls and included seven fours and five sixes as he, along with captain Moeen Ali, who finished 25*, steered the Victorians to their second BPL title in a row and fourth overall.

Charles ended the 2023 BPL as the 11th highest run-scorer with 308 runs in nine matches, including one fifty and one hundred. He also hit the most sixes in the tournament with 26. (Sportsmax)

Advertisement _____
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.