Milo Schools U-18 football tournament gains support of GINMIN


Guyana Industrial Minerals Inc. (GINMIN), a subsidiary of First Bauxite LLC, has collaborated with the Petra Organisation for the staging of their ninth edition of the Milo Schools Under-18 Football tournament, slated to kick off March 4 at the Ministry of Education ground, Carifesta Avenue.

At Monday’s brief presentation ceremony held at the National Library, GINMIN joined GENEQUIP as sponsors of the playing kits for teams that reach the Round-of-16 stage.

Of the 48 teams, only 32 will contest the group stage after an elimination segment based on seedings.

From the eight groups of four, the top two will progress to the knockout rounds.

The organisers also used the occasion to hand over practice balls to the participating teams.

Chief Executive Officer of GINMIN, Elliott Lincoln, expressed that supporting the tournament was a no-brainer, given its impact over the years and his son’s love for the sport.

The top four teams will be rewarded with G$300,000, G$200,000, G$100,000 and G$75,000 respectively towards school projects.

The lads of Christianburg/Wismar Secondary are the two-time defending champions after a comprehensive 3-1 victory over North Ruimveldt Secondary in August 2022.

Participating schools:

Region One: Santa Rosa Secondary

Region Two: Eight of May Secondary, Cotton Field Secondary

Region Three: Vreen-en-Hoop Secondary, Westminster Secondary, Stewartville Secondary, Patentia Secondary, West Demerara Secondary, Uitvlugt Secondary, Vergenogen Secondary

East Coast Demerara: Annandale Secondary, Ann’s Grove Secondary, Golden Grove Secondary, President’s College

East Bank Demerara: St. Cuthbert’s Mission, Dora Secondary

Georgetown: The Bishops’ High, Carmel Secondary, Charlestown Secondary, North Ruimveldt Secondary, Cummings Lodge Secondary, East Ruimveldt, Chase Academic Foundation, Morgan’s Learning Centre, Marian Academy, New Central High Secondary St. Joseph High School, Dolphin Secondary, Tucville, Secondary, Queen’s College, St. Stanislaus College, Lodge Secondary, West Ruimveldt Secondary, Freeburg Secondary, St. Winifred Secondary, St, John’s College, Queenstown Secondary

Region Five: Bush Lot Secondary, Bygeval Secondary

Region Six: Berbice Education Institute, Canje Secondary, Berbice High School, New Amsterdam Secondary, Manchester Secondary

Region Seven: Bartica Secondary

Region 10: Christianburg Wismar Secondary, McKenzie Secondary

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.