Terrific Teasdale spurs Diplomats to 6-3 win over Team Parliament


The dynamic Jessica Teasdale proved on Tuesday evening that she can not only match her male counterparts, but also outscore them as she netted a hat-trick to spur Team Diplomats to a commanding 6-3 win over Team Parliament in a feature football match at the Everest ground, Camp Road.

Though it was billed as a friendly encounter to usher in observances related to the 70th anniversary of Guyana’s Parliament, the game was for the most part fiercely competitive.

Despite the spirited battle between the two sides, the eventual outcome was settled very early as Diplomats surged ahead with three unanswered goals in the initial exchanges.

It was the type of start that had Team Parliament playing catch-up from the get-go.

Members of Team Diplomats celebrate victory (Photo: News Room/February 21, 2023)

Teasdale netted a hat-trick in the first half, which ended 5-0 in favour of the Diplomats, before Team Parliament enjoyed a better second-half, scoring three goals, while conceding one.

Everest has been a happy hunting ground for Teasdale.

Just last October, she played a crucial role in GT Kanaimas winning the Amerindian Heritage Games female football final, scoring the opening goal in their 4-0 success over the reigning champions Paiwomak Warriors.

On Tuesday, she got support from MVP Rick Jan Molanus with a double and Edwin Martinez with a solitary strike.

Azumah Roberts netted a double for Team Parliament, while Roberto Gibson scored the other.

In this composite, Jessica Teasdale (left) receives a trophy for scoring the most goals from Deputy Speaker Lennox Shuman, while Rick Jan Molanus collects his MVP prize from Member of Parliament Dharamkumar Seeraj

Molanus received a trophy for being MVP, while Teasdale received same for scoring the most goals.

Team Diplomats lifted the champions trophy, while players on both sides were presented with commemorative medals.

The game was played in a festive atmosphere and was attended by politicians from the government and opposition benches, members of the diplomatic community, representatives of corporate Guyana and fans and stakeholders of football.

Team Parliament players pose with their medals after the game (Photo: News Room/February 21, 2023)

The on-field activities were coordinated by the Guyana Football Federation, who provided the officials and technical staff to ensure a match of the highest standard.

The two sides were coached by national senior coach Jamaal Shabazz (Team Parliament) and youth coach Vurlon Mills (Team Diplomats). Notably, President of the Guyana Football Federation Wayne Forde turned out for Team Parliament.

Azumah Roberts (left) and Roberto Gibson netted for Team Parliament (Photo: News Room/February 21, 2023)

He said the Federation was pleased to play a part in the historic game, adding the the governing body will play a more integral role in getting Team Parliament better prepared for the next encounter.

Speaker of the National Assembly Manzoor Nadir had earlier hinted at the game becoming an annual feature.

US Ambassador to Guyana Sarah-Ann Lynch and EU Ambassador René Van Nes having a chat during the half-time break (Photo: News Room/February 21, 2023)

Meanwhile, at the half-time break, Nadir stood between the uprights, defending the goal against some Members of Parliament, representatives of the diplomatic community and spectators.

In a novelty game dubbed ‘Get one pass the Speaker’, those who managed to score received a token. To his credit, the Speaker did manage to save a few.

Member of Parliament Dharamkumar Seeraj reacts after missing the goal in the ‘Get one pass the Speaker’ novelty game (Photo: News Room/February 21, 2023)

Among those who took a shot at goal were Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Governance Gail Teixeira, Members of Parliament Dharamkumar Seeraj, Ganesh Mahipaul and Jermaine Figueira, US Ambassador to Guyana Sarah-Ann Lynch and national Table-Tennis player Miguel Wong.

Nadir, speaking at the presentation ceremony, expressed gratitude to all stakeholders who played a part in making the game a success, and lauded the players for the spirit and camaraderie in which the game was played.

From left: Members of Parliament Sanjeev Datadin, Ganesh Mahipaul and Dharamkumar Seeraj watching the ‘Get one pass the Speaker’ novelty game (Photo: News Room/February 21, 2023)
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.