Mumbai Indians win inaugural Women’s Premier League

Mumbai Indians 134 for 3 (Sciver-Brunt 60*, Harmanpreet 37) beat Delhi Capitals 131 for 9 (Lanning 35, Pandey 27*, Radha 27*, Matthews 3-5, Wong 3-42) by seven wickets


Mumbai Indians were crowned champions of the inaugural Women’s Premier League with a seven-wicket win over Delhi Capitals.

England’s Nat Sciver-Brunt scored 60 not out as Mumbai reached their target of 132 with three balls to spare.

Needing five from the last over, Sciver-Brunt hit the third ball for four to seal the victory.

Delhi recovered from 79-9, with Hayley Matthews taking 3-5, to eventually post 131-9 from their 20 overs.

In front of a raucous crowd at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai, Meg Lanning’s Delhi won the toss and chose to bat, but were in early trouble at 35-3 as England bowler Issy Wong took three wickets.

Lanning and Marizanne Kapp added 38 for the fourth wicket but Delhi unraveled in a collapse of six wickets for just six runs, slipping from 73-3 to 79-9.

But an unbroken 10th-wicket stand of 52 in 24 balls between Shikha Pandey and Radha Yadav, who both made 27, steered Delhi out of danger.

Mumbai stuttered late in their chase when captain Harmanpreet Kaur was run out for 37 in the 17th over after a crucial partnership of 72 with Sciver-Brunt.

But Amelia Kerr’s calm 14 not out supported Sciver-Brunt, who hit the winning runs with a ramp for four off England team-mate Alice Capsey. (BBC) 

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.