Chanderpaul, Motie, Sinclair and Imlach selected for West Indies ‘A’ duties


Guyana Harpy Eagles quartet of Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Gudakesh Motie, Kevin Sinclair, and Tevin Imlach have gotten the nod for the West Indies ‘A’ tour of Bangladesh later this month.

News Room Sport was further informed that West Indies Assistant Coach, Guyanese Rayon Griffith, will lead the management team.

On Friday, Cricket West Indies (CWI) Senior Men’s Selection Panel named the fifteen-man squad for the tour and Joshua Da Silva, the West Indies Test wicket-keeper/batter, will captain the team in the three Four-Day ‘Test’ matches against Bangladesh ‘A’ starting on May 16.

Along with Da Silva, Chanderpaul and Motie, Raymon Reifer and Anderson Phillip are the other players with Test experience.

The squad also includes three newcomers to the international level: openers Kirk McKenzie and Zachary McCaskie as well as fast bowler Jair McAllister. All three made their First-Class debuts during the West Indies Four-Day Championship earlier this year.

Lead Selector, the Most Honorable Dr. Desmond Haynes, stated that the aim was to pick a balanced team as they look to expose the players to overseas conditions.

“We selected a group of players who we think could benefit from the exposure in Bangladesh and we also have our eyes on the upcoming Test Series against India in the Caribbean.”

He added: “Among the newcomers, we have pace bowler McAllister who is fast and strong and has the ability to unsettle batters. McCaskie had a solid start to his First-Class career, showed good temperament, and has the ability to play all around the wicket.

McKenzie was eye-catching during his double-century for the West Indies Academy in the Headley Weekes Tri-Series. It was a superb knock and demonstrated that the investment in the Academy is bearing fruit.”

West Indies arrive in Bangladesh on May 11 and play all three of the First-Class matches at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium.

This ‘A’ team tour reciprocates the Bangladesh ‘A’ team tour of the West Indies in August 2022, when the teams drew both a two-match series of four-day first-class matches and also a three-match 50-over series at the Daren Sammy Stadium in St. Lucia.

West Indies ‘A’ squad: Joshua DaSilva (Captain), Alick Athanaze, Yannic Cariah, Keacy Carty, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Tevin Imlach, Akeem Jordan, Brandon King, Jair McAllister, Zachary McCaskie, Kirk McKenzie, Gudakesh Motie, Anderson Phillip, Raymon Reifer, Kevin Sinclair. 


May 16-19: 1st ‘Test’

May 23-26: 2nd ‘Test’

May 30 – June 2: 3rd ‘Test’

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.