48-year-old Phillip Clarke wins 40th Independence Three-Stage Cycle Race


Age is truly just a number and it was quite evident over the past two days as 48-year-old Phillip Clarke, a Barbadian, conquered competitors much younger, to win the National Sports Commission (NSC) 40th Independence Three-Stage Cycle Road Race.

After battling for 165 miles, Clarke, who rode for a Trinidadian club, accumulated 35 points to pip Guyana’s Romello Crawford and Curtis Dey, who tied for 34 points, in the final tally on Sunday.

Crawford won the first leg, 40 miles, from Corriverton to New Amsterdam in a time of one hour, 48 minutes and 27 seconds while Clarke won the second stage, 60 miles, from Berbice Bridge to Carifesta Avenue, in what officials deemed to be a record time of two hours, 20 minutes and 45 seconds (2:20.45s).

Robin Persaud (27 points), Alexander Leung (17 points), Emmanuel Gayral of Antigua and Barbuda (11 points), and Jorryn Simpson of Suriname (11 points) rounded off the top positions.

The overall winner got G$150,000, second G$110,000, third G$80,000, fourth G$60,000, fifth G$50,000, and sixth G$35,000.

Persaud won the final stage, 65 miles, from Linden to Homestretch Avenue, in a time of two hours, 50 minutes and 11 seconds (2:50.11s), and also copped the top prize for the veterans  (40-45).

Director of Sport, Steve Ninvalle (far left) and the respective winners of the Independence Three-Stage Cycle Road Race

Another sparkle of the race was 15-year-old Alexander Leung, completing all three stages on his way to deserved Juniors title.

Director of Sport, Steve Ninvalle, charged the Guyana Cycling Federation (GCF) to invest in programme to develop the youths since “they are the future”.

Furthermore, Ninvalle asked the GCF to consider hosting a five-stage event and to incorporate courses outside of the norm in Berbice and Demerara, and assured the NSC will continue to assist.

40th Independence Three-Stage Cycle Road Race

Category First Second Third
Seniors Phillip Clarke Romello Crawford Curtis Dey
Ladies Cliveica Spencer Tandeia Noel
Veterans (Age: 40-45) Robin Persaud Kwame Ridley Alex Mendes
Veterans (Over 45) Ian Jackson Mark Spencer Nigel London
Juniors Alexander Leung Aaron Newton Ajani Cutting
Juveniles Sidwell Sandy Torell Noel


Advertisement _____
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.