CPL Player Draft show set for June month-end


By Avenash Ramzan


The highly anticipated Player Draft for the Republic Bank 2023 Caribbean Premier League tournament will now be aired June month-end.

While the retentions of the six franchises have been made public, the remaining draft and overseas picks will be announced during the show.

CPL is currently finalising broadcasting arrangements and a definitive date will be announced in due course, News Room Sport was able to confirm on Monday.

Initially, June 5 was announced as the date for the Draft, however, that has shifted by a few weeks.

“All the names that will be announced prior to the show are out there. As ever, things can change with CPL, but current plan is for overseas signings and drafted players to be announced during the draft show,” a CPL source explained.

Retained players

BARBADOS ROYALS: Jason Holder, Kyle Mayers, Obed McCoy, Rahkeem Cornwall, Justin Greaves, Joshua Bishop, Nyeem Young and Ramon Simmonds. The Royals have also brought in Rovman Powell, who was transferred from the Jamaica Tallawahs.

GUYANA AMAZON WARRIORS: Shimron Hetmyer, Odean Smith, Romario Shepherd, Shai Hope, Keemo Paul, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Gudakesh Motie, Matthew Nandu and Junior Sinclair.

JAMAICA TALLAWAHS: Brandon King, Fabian Allen, Shamarh Brooks, Raymon Reifer, Amir Jangoo, Shamar Springer, Nicholson Gordon, Kirk McKenzie and Joshua James. The Tallawahs have also brought in Hayden Walsh Jr. who was transferred from the Barbados Royals.

ST. KITTS AND NEVIS PATRIOTS: Sherfane Rutherford, Evin Lewis, Andre Fletcher, Dominic Drakes, Sheldon Cottrell and Joshua DaSilva. Patriots have also secured the services of fast bowler Oshane Thomas, who was transferred from the Barbados Royals

ST. LUCIA KINGS: Johnson Charles, Alzarri Joseph, Roston Chase, Roshon Primus, Jeavor Royal, Matthew Forde and McKenny Clarke. The Kings have also secured the services of Khary Pierre who has been transferred to the team from the Trinbago Knight Riders.

TRINBAGO KNIGHT RIDERS: Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Nicholas Pooran, Akeal Hosein and Jayden Seales. The Knight Riders have also secured the services of Dwayne Bravo, who will be returning to the franchise from the St. Kitts and Nevis Patriots. They will also have Mark Deyal as part of their set-up in 2023 with the all-rounder joining the Knight Riders from the St. Lucia Kings.

The tournament gets underway on August 16 with the final taking place on September 24.

There will be matches in Barbados, Guyana, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia and Trinidad and Tobago.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.