Bush Lot, Bartica and Waramuri among final eight in ExxonMobil Schools Football


Sixteen teams- split equally between the two categories- remain in the fourth ExxonMobil Boys and Girls Under-14 Schools Football Tournament after the latest round of play.

The eight boys’ teams were confirmed at the weekend at the National Insurance Scheme Ground, Carifesta Avenue, and from now on, there will be no more elimination, but rather teams playing for positions one to eight.

ExxonMobil Guyana gifted all 16 teams uniforms.

In the Round-of-16 action on Saturday, Bush Lot Secondary defeated East Ruimveldt Secondary 5-3 on the back of a helmet-trick from Quancy Fraser, who netted in the 30th, 31st, 32nd and 39th minutes, while teammate John Fullerton scored in the second minute.

Jaden Abrahami (11th), Gary Primo (13th) and Jeremiah Low (18th) netted for East Ruimveldt.

The teams out of Georgetown continue to impress as Patentia Secondary edged Cummings Lodge 2-1 with goals from Jairam Ashmid (9th) and Kemraj Hemnauth (16th), while Cleon London scored a consolation goal for Cummings Lodge in the 30th.

A double by Pharez Noble (22nd and 23rd) got Christianburg Wismar Secondary over the line against Dora Secondary and Riley Tracey’s strike in the 39th led Bartica Secondary to victory over McKenzie High.

Likewise, Bradley Williams (55th) took his side, Waramuri Primary Top, over the line against Fort Wellington Secondary.

West Demerara’s West Minster Secondary continued to show impressive signs as they got the better of Marian Academy 3-1 with goals from Raheem Romney (12th), Michael Singh (19th) and Simon McLean, while Nyhl George scored for Marian in the 40th.

Chase Academic Foundation got into the next round with a comprehensive 3-0 win over Dolphin Secondary via goals from Darius Chester (28th), Tyrell Walcott (31st) and Ranny Yaw (40th).

Devon Williams’ goals in the 17th and 18th were not enough to stop New Central High from winning 3-2 as Trevor Gordon (26th and 31st) and Caedon Whyte (57th) scored for the victors.

Waramuri Primary Top, St. Stanislaus College, Tucville Secondary, Charlestown Secondary, Ann’s Grove Secondary, East Ruimveldt Secondary, New Central High, Bartica Secondary and Marian Academy are the eight girls’ teams who qualified the weekend prior.

Quarter-final action will commence on June 10.

The cash prizes, which go towards school grants, are G$300,000 (first), G$150,000 (second), G$70,000 (third) and G$50,000 (fourth), along with individual accolades.

Last year, Charlestown Secondary School created history by winning both the Boys’ and Girls’ categories, but this year, they will only be able to possibly repeat as Girls’ champions after the Boys team did not progress from the group stage.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.