Over 60 athletes and officials to represent Guyana at XXIV CAC Games


By Avenash Ramzan


Over 60 athletes and officials will represent Team Guyana at the XXIV Central American and Caribbean Games (CAC Games) 2023 in San Salvador, El Salvador.

Guyana will be represented in several disciplines, namely Archery, Athletics, Badminton, Basketball, Boxing, Fencing, Hockey, Swimming, Table Tennis and Weightlifting.

The top brass of the Guyana Olympic Association on Tuesday summoned the media to a press briefing and meeting at its Liliendaal headquarters where the entire contingent was announced for the June 23 to July 8 Games.

There, the athletes and officials were reminded of their responsibilities and obligations as members of Team Guyana and as ambassadors of the country. (See full list of athletes and officials below)

Click here to view CAC Games 2023 website

GOA officials at the meeting with the CAC Games contingent on June 13, 2023. From left are Garfield Wiltshire, Vidushi Persaud-McKinnon, Philip Fernandes, Cristy Campbell, Godfrey Munroe, Dr. Karen Pilgrim and Emelia Ramdhani (Photo: News Room/Avenash Ramzan/June 13, 2023)

What they said

Godfrey Munroe, President of the Guyana Olympic Association: “We know it will be a competitive Games, and from the Olympic Association end, we always speak about managing expectations. Ensure that you do of your best, be good ambassadors. Support your teammates and if we get medals that will be the icing on the cake. Do your best.”

Cristy Campbell, Vice-Chair of the National Sports Commission: “I hope that you display good mannerism and you uphold the standards and requirements that have been outlined. What I also would like to inform you is that based on new protocols that we have implemented at the National Sports Commission and the Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sport, all travelling athletes and officials are required to meet with the Honourable Minister (Charles Ramson Jr.). We would like to meet to establish any difficulties or challenges you may have and just to give you reassurance that the Ministry and the National Sports Commission are always on standby to assist you in any way.”

Chef-de-Mission Dr. Karen Pilgrim urged the athletes to be cognisant of their role as ambassadors of Guyana and act accordingly.

Importantly, the long-serving sport administrator also encouraged members of the contingent to be in compliance with their anti-doping requirements for the Games.

HOCKEY: Dominic Alleyne, Jamarj Assanah, Edmond Chinian, Paul D’Andrade, Shakeem Fausette, Shaquon Favorite, Robert France, Tahrea Garnett, Jael Gaskin, Troy Hodge, Kareem McKenzie, Simeon Moore, Me’Shach Sargeant, Oshazay Savory, Orland Semple and Andrew Stewart. OFFICIALS: John Abrahams, Robert Fernandes and Theodore Henry.

ARCHERY: Wayne DeAbreu (Men’s Individual Recurve at 70m)

ATHLETICS: Emanuel Archibald (Men’s 100m, Men’s Long Jump, Men’s 4x100m Relay) Domon Williams (Men’s Triple Jump), Akeem Stewart (Men’s 4x100m Relay), Natrena Hooper (Women’s Triple Jump), Kenisha Phillips (Women’s 200m, Women’s 400m), Keliza Smith (Women’s 100m), Quamel Prince (Men’s 800m), Leslain Baird (Men’s Javelin), Noelex Holder (Men’s 4x100m Relay), Ezekiel Newton (Men’s 4x100m Relay), Aaliyah Moore (Women’s 800m) and Andrea Foster (Women’s 400m Hurdles). OFFICIALS: Julian Edmonds and Niall Stanton.

BADMINTON: Priyanna Ramdhani (Women’s Singles, Mixed Doubles) and Narayan Ramdhani (Men’s Singles, Mixed Doubles). OFFICIAL: Naeem Haque.

3×3 BASKETBALL: Ruth Adams, Kirsty Thomas, Shania Sears and Kennesha Leacock. OFFICIAL: Sileena Arjune.

BOXING: Keevin Allicock (Men’s 57kg), Desmond Amsterdam (Men’s 80kg), Emmanuel Pompey (Men’s 92kg) and Joel Williamson (Men’s 63.5kg). OFFICIALS: Terrence Poole and Lennox Daniels.

FENCING: Avinash Somir (Men’s Individual Épée)

SWIMMING: Sekhel Tzedeq (Men’s 50m Freestyle, Men’s 100m Freestyle, Men’s 50m Backstroke, Men’s 100m Backstroke) and Latisha Blair (Women’s 50m Freestyle, Women’s 50m Backstroke, Women’s 100m Backstroke). OFFICIAL: Shyka Gonsalves.

TABLE TENNIS: Natalie Cummings (Women’s Team, Women’s Singles, Women’s Doubles, Mixed Doubles), Priscilla Greaves (Women’s Team, Women’s Singles), Christopher Franklin (Men’s Doubles, Mixed Doubles, Men’s Team, Men’s Singles), Jonathan van Lange (Men’s Team, Men’s Singles), Jasmine Billingy (Women’s Team, Women’s Singles), Elishaba Johnson (Men’s Team, Men’s Singles), Chelsea Edghill (Women’s Team, Mixed Doubles, Women’s Doubles, Women’s Singles) and Shemar Britton (Men’s Doubles, Mixed Doubles, Men’s Team, Men’s Singles). OFFICIALS: Idi Lewis and Joel Alleyne.

WEIGHTLIFTING: Delice Adonis (Women’s 64kg) and Shammah Noel (Men’s 81kg). OFFICIAL: Sean Cozier.

MEDICAL: Dr. Richie Vyphuis and Vanessa Wickham

CHEF-DE-MISSION: Dr. Karen Pilgrim


FLAG BEARERS: Desmond Amsterdam (Boxing) and Natalie Cummings (Table Tennis)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.