Powell leads West Indies to warm-up win over UAE

SUMMARY: West Indies 374-9 from 50 overs (Rovman Powell 105, Nicholas Pooran 74; Muhammad Jawadullah 3-50, Karthik Meiyappan 2-51) vs United Arab Emirates 260-9 from 50 overs (Basil Hameed 122*, Vriitya Aravind 54; Yannic Cariah 4-58, Jason Holder 2-26)


West Indies completed a second straight win in their warm-up games ahead of the ICC 50-over World Cup Qualifier, beating the United Arab Emirates (UAE) by 114 runs in Harare on Thursday.

Rovman Powell’s rapid century helped the West Indies regain composure after they slipped to 198-7 midway through their innings against UAE.

Nicholas Pooran’s 74 off 67 had helped the Windies to a commanding position before three wickets in nine balls saw his side stutter.

But Powell combined with Keemo Paul (54 off 50) to put on 139 for the eighth wicket, the former eventually dismissed for 105 from just 55 balls as the Windies posted 374-9.

The UAE had a centurion of their own in the form of Basil Hameed, who batted valiantly to reach 122 not out as his side fell 114 runs short.

Yannic Cariah was again the star of the West Indies attack as he took 4-58 to back up his four-wicket haul in the first warm-up game.

Qualifiers format

West Indies have been drawn alongside the Netherlands, Nepal, United States, and hosts Zimbabwe in Group A of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier tournament.

The ICC has unveiled the two groups, match schedules and venues for the 10-team tournament from 18 June to 9 July. All matches will start at 9am local time (3am Eastern Caribbean Time/2am Jamaica Time).

Group B features Sri Lanka, Ireland, Scotland, Oman and United Arab Emirates (UAE). The ten teams will be competing for the two remaining places at the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup which will be played in India in October and November later this year.

West Indies face the USA in the opening Group A fixture on Sunday 18 June at Takashinga Cricket Club, followed by Nepal on Thursday 22 June at Harare Sports Club. West Indies meet hosts Zimbabwe on Saturday 24 June at Harare Sports Club. The fourth preliminary match will be against the Netherlands on Monday 26 June.

Each side will play the other teams in their group once with the top three from the groups progressing to the Super Six stage from Thursday 29 June to Friday 7 July. The teams each play three Super Six matches against the sides they did not meet in the group stage.

All points won in the groups will be carried over to the Super Six stage apart from those gained against the bottom two from each group. The final will be played at Harare Sports Club on Sunday 9 July. The two finalists will both progress to the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023.

FULL SQUAD: Shai Hope (captain), Rovman Powell (vice-captain), Shamarh Brooks, Yannic Cariah, Keacy Carty, Roston Chase, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Johnson Charles, Keemo Paul, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd.



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.