National Cycling Championship: Newton, Leung and Spencer crowned champions


By Danielle Swain

The Guyana Cycling Federation’s National Championship pedalled off on Saturday morning at the National Park with the Juvenile, Junior and Women categories.

After rivalry in the three divisions, young duo Aaron Newton and Alexander Leung of Team We Stand United and Clivecia Spencer of Team Coco have emerged national champions.

Newton won the Junior championship, doing 40 laps in a time of 1:46:51s. Teammate Leung was crowned Juvenile champion with a time of 1:08:01s, over a distance of 25 laps.

The consistent Spencer copped first place in the Women championship recording a leading time of 1:10.52s after 25 laps.

The National Championship will continue on Sunday (June 18) with the Masters’ category road race starting at 07:00h from Carifesta Avenue. It will proceed to ‘Halfway Tree’, Mahaicony, before returning to the start point for the finish.

Next weekend (June 24 and 25), the National Championship will wrap up with the Time Trials and the Elite race. On June 24, the Time Trials will commence at 08:00h at KK Gas Station, Unity, East Coast Demerara, while on the following day, the Elite riders will compete in Linden from 07:30h.

Summarised Results- National Cycling Championship 2023


1 Aaron Newton, Team We Stand United

2 Ajani Cutting, Team Kaieteur Attack

3 Sebastian Nathan, Team Kaieteur Attack


1 Alexander Leung, Team We Stand United

2 Sydwel Sandy

3 Alex Newton, Team We Stand United


1 Clivecia Spencer, Team Coco

2 Savannah Hyles

3 Abigale Jeffrey, Team Kaieteur Attack

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.