Kevin Sinclair to replace injured Cariah at World Cup Qualifier 


By Akeem Greene

Guyanese all-rounder Kevin Sinclair will replace the injured Yannic Cariah in the West Indies squad at the ongoing World Cup Qualifier in Zimbabwe.

Johnny Grave, Chief Executive Officer of Cricket West Indies  (CWI), announced on Tuesday evening.

Grave spoke on a Barbadian radio programme, Mason and Guest, and noted that Sinclair is currently on his way to Zimbabwe.

The 23-year-old was recently recalled to the West Indies 50-over squad for the tour in the United Arab Emirates and took 4-24 in his lone match.

His recall came from an impressive season for the Guyana Harpy Eagles and the West Indies A in Bangladesh.

The man from Berbice heads into the tournament with West Indies’ chances of progressing to the World Cup in India being in grave danger after losses to Zimbabwe and the Netherlands.

Cariah underwent surgery to repair a fracture in his nose.

He was injured when struck in the face during a training session on June 24 on the eve of West Indies’ first World Cup qualifier game in Zimbabwe.

CWI’s medical team was optimistic Cariah would recover in time for the tournament.

Yannic Cariah

However, Grave explained that the leg-spinner was still in discomfort after the surgery, and they then had to await approval from the ICC technical committee for a replacement,

Meanwhile, hosts Zimbabwe, West Indies, and the Netherlands took the top three positions from Group A, while Sri Lanka, Oman, and Scotland progressed from Group B.

All points won against opponents progressing from the group stage will be carried forward.

West Indies carried no points because their wins were against sides who did not progress to the Super Six stage.

In the Super Six, each team will play the sides they did not meet in the group stage, and the top two will both progress to the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023.

West Indies play their first Super Six match on July 1 against Scotland, then Oman (July 5) and Sri Lanka (July 7).

West Indies Squad: Shai Hope (c), Rovman Powell (vc), Shamarh Brooks, Keacy Carty, Johnson Charles, Roston Chase, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Keemo Paul, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd, Kevin Sinclair.

1 Comment
  1. Patricia Pierre says

    Congratulations to you Kevin.. Go out there and put your best foot forward We all wish you the very best

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.