PPP/C secures Mayorship for Bartica and Mahdia


The People’s Progressive Party won seven of the 10 towns in Guyana at the just concluded Local Government Elections.

But in two of those towns – Bartica and Mahdia – it tied with the main opposition A Partnership for National Unity for the seats allocated on the Municipal Council.

After three rounds of voting on Friday, Anthony Murray of the governing People’s Progressive Party Civic was elected Mayor of the municipality of Bartica.

Murray was up against the APNU’s Clinton Bobb but was declared to be the duly elected Mayor by the Town Clerk after the three rounds of voting returned a tie for the candidates.

The two parties equally occupy nine seats each on the 18-member Council.

Murray, a businessman, is a former executive of the Bartica Chamber of Commerce and Industry.

He replaces Gifford Marshall and will be supported in his duties by Deputy Mayor Gail Ann Persaud who previously served as a councilor.

Meanwhile, similarly, in Madhia, the PPP/C secured the Mayor and Deputy Mayor positions.

Eslyn Hussain was elected Mayor while Akita Evans was elected Deputy Mayor.

Mayors and deputies were elected in several other municipalities and NDCs and saw Alfred Mentore, Sharma Solomon and Devin Mohan elected as mayors for Georgetown, Linden and Anna Regina, respectively.

Elections are continuing on Friday in other areas including New Amsterdam.

These Mayors and their deputies will all take their Oath of Office before the President in due course.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.