Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sport onboard Kares One Guyana T10 Blast

- Minister Ramson Jr. hopes to see further growth of tournament


The Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sport is onboard the inaugural Kares One Guyana T10 Tapeball Blast set for July 29-30 in Georgetown.

Minister Charles Ramson Jr. and Chairman of the National Sports Commission, Kashif Muhammad, recently met with the organisers at the Ministry’s Main Street location.

Both the Minister and the Chairman applauded the organisers for creating a viable product and hopes to see it grow to involve more teams and be contested over a longer period.

The Minister suggested the idea of the future finals being staged at the National Stadium, Providence, given the magnitude of support for community-based tournaments.

The organising team – FL Sport – comprised of John Ramsingh, Romario Samaroo, Yusuf Ali and Akeem Greene, took up the Minster’s challenge to expand the tournament in the future.

This year, the tournament has 32 teams, who have come from all regions except Region Nine.

Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport, Charles Ramson Jr. receives his tournament jersey as he could feature in the celebrity match for Charity on July 30

More so, President Dr. Irfaan Ali, the tournament’s patron, recently recommitted his support for the tournament, noting it is an event that will bring many people together from varying communities under the ‘One Guyana’ banner.

The President also unveiled the specially-made hand-crafted winner’s trophy. Prime Minister, Brigadier (Ret’d) Mark Phillips was also present, and he, too, pledged his support towards the tournament.

Several active and former national players will feature for their teams over the two-day extravaganza.

Preliminary matches will be staged at the Police Sports Club, the Guyana Defence Force, Queen’s College Ground, YMCA, and Transport Sports Club, while the finals will be held at the Everest Cricket Ground on July 30.

To progress to the championship match, a team must win three matches on day one and their semi-final on day two.

They will then qualify to compete for the first prize of $1M cash and the specially crafted One Guyana Trophy.

The organisers are grateful for the support of Kares Engineering, who quickly committed to being the title sponsor, and Mohamed’s Enterprise, who funded the first-place prize and offset the transportation cost for team Moruca.

More so, Banks DIH, through GT Beer for fueling the weekend, Star Rentals, Avinash Contracting and Scrap Metal Inc., ENet, Regal Stationery and Computer Centre, Trophy Stall, Premier Insurance, Cricket Zone USA, Beacon Café, Continental Transport, Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sport, National Sports Commission, RS53 RestoBar and Lounge, Jacobs Jewelry & Pawn Shop, First Change Builder Inc. Impressions Inc. and Sicko Mode, 94.1 BOOM FM, Assuria Insurance, Montra Restaurant & Longue.

The first-ever champions will pocket $1M, while the losing finalist will collect $300,000.

The two losing semi-finalists will walk away with $100,000 each. There will also be prizes for outstanding individual performances.

Additionally, there will be a celebrity match before the championship match where the winning side will be rewarded $200,000, which will be donated to a charity of their choice.

The celebrity match could feature President Ali, former national and international cricketers, entertainers, sponsors, media members, athletes, former and current Ministers, and other influential persons in Guyana.

The organisers reminded that players will not only walk away with their pockets filled as there will be numerous instant prizes for the fans who participate in cricket novelty activities.

At the same time, the children will be pampered with free rides, games, and treats in the Banks DIH Fun Zone.

There was a change in fixtures to accommodate the usage of normal mud pitches, as unanimously requested by participating teams.

Round of 16 matches commences at 13:30h at all five venues, while Super Eight matches start at 16:00h and will be at QC, Police and Guyana Defence Grounds only.

The semifinals and final are on July 30 at Everest Cricket Ground.

Matches starting at 09:00h
1. Eccles All Stars v Hero Riders – Queen’s College Ground
2. Ministry of Human Services and Social Security v Bartica Bulls – Queen’s College Ground
3. Avinash All-Stars v PB Contractors – YMCA
4. Continental Transport v Moruca XI – Guyana Defence Force Ground
5. Eastsye v Airport XI – Guyana Defence Force Ground
6. The United Crew v Spartan Strikers – Guyana Defence Force Ground
7. Village Rams v Young Steppaz – Transport Sports Club
8. Ministry of Housing & Water v Central Stars – Police Sports Club

Matches starting at 11:00h
9. Ariel XI v Movements Family – Queen’s College Ground
10. Big B’s Blairmont Blazers v MS 13 XI – Queen’s College Ground
11. Team Corruption v Upsetters – YMCA
12. Guyana Power & Light v Laluni – Guyana Defence Force Ground
13. 1Name Brand v Storm Chasers – Guyana Defence Ground
14. Tarmac Titans v EC Express – Transport Sports Club
15. Diamond Gunners v Region Three Police – Police Sports Club
16. Avery Lounge v V-Net Vipers – Police Sports Club

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.