Deonarine leads from the front as West Indies O-40 beat Australia

SUMMARY: West Indies 267-7 from 45 overs (Narsingh Deonarine 65, Javed Bacchus 61, Randy Thomas 43, Dary Balgobin 42*, Mahendra Nagamootoo 27; Mark Leard 4-56) vs Australia 183 all out from 35 overs (Tim Bott 47, Steve Paulsen 30; Shazan Babwah 3-28, Sanjiv Gooliar 2-36, Mahendra Nagamootoo 1-17, Narsingh Deonarine 1-20, Randy Lindore 1-26, Bhesham Seepersaud 1-30)


Former Guyana and West Indies all-rounder Narsingh Deonarine turned in a Player-of-the-Match performance to lead West Indies to victory over Australia on the opening day of the Over-40s Cricket Global Cup 2023 in Karachi, Pakistan.

West Indies emerged with an 84-run victory on Tuesday, joining hosts Pakistan, Canada and Hong Kong as winners on the first day of the 45-over tournament.

Batting first, West Indies posted 267-7 from the full allotment of overs and then dismissed Australia for 183 from 35 overs.

Captain Deonarine, who played 18 Tests, 31 ODIs and eight T20 Internationals for West Indies between 2005 and 2015, led the batting effort with 65 off 76 (5x4s, 2x6s).

The left-hander shared a 115-run, fourth-wicket partnership with Javed Bacchus, who made 61 off 82 (10x4s).

Opener Randy Thomas scored 43 off 41 (6x4s, 1×6), Dary Balgobin stroked 42* off 27 (4x4s, 2x6s) and Guyanese Mahendra Nagamootoo chipped in with 27 off 16 (4x4s).

Guyanese top-order batters Hemraj Garbarran and Devon Clements made zero and 12 respectively.

Bowling for Australia, Mark Leard took 4-56.

The Aussies never challenged the total, falling way short with Tim Bott making 47 and Steve Paulsen 30.

Bowling for West Indies, Shazam Babwah took 3-28, Sanjiv Gooliar 2-36, Nagamootoo 1-17, Deonarine 1-20, Randy Lindore 1-26 and Bhesham Seepersaud 1-30.

Below are the summarised scores from the other games.

Pakistan defeated USA by one wicket

USA 250 all out from 44.3 overs (Muhammad Farrukh 82, Jan Nisar Khan 39, Anwar Ahmed 32, Vinod, Shankar Periagaram 31; Haris Ayaz 4-35) vs Pakistan 253-9 from 40.4 overs (Tassawar Abbas 86*, Misbah Ul Haq 64, Tariq Haroon 43; Jan Nisar Khan 3-22, Saqib Hameed 3-40)

Canada defeated UAE by two wickets

UAE 181 all out from 39.3 overs (Abdulhaq 43, Vijay Mehra 30; Ayaz Ali 2-6, Badar Munir 2-18, Aftab Qaisar 2-36) vs Canada 182-8 from 42.5 overs (Sheraz Zubair 57, Aftab Qaisar 43; Rehan Khan 2-33, Azhar Gull 2-35)

Hong Kong defeated Nepal by eight wickets

Nepal 105 all out from 31.5 overs (Santosh Bhandari 21*; Shelton Joseph D Cruz 2-19, Kashif Shams 2-20, Khan Zar 2-26) vs Hong Kong 106-2 from 27.4 overs (John Patrick Roy Lamsam 40*, Rahul Sambhus 30*)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.