Massive wins for GDF, Police and Potaro Strikers in GFF Women’s League Division One


The opening weekend of the Guyana Football Federation (GFF) and Women Football Association (WFA) Women’s League Division One witnessed an impressive display of football with a total of 40 goals scored by the Guyana Defence Force, Potaro Strikers and Guyana Police Force.

The GDF players after their success

Guyana Defence Force secured a dominant 13-0 victory against Fruta Conquerors with top scorer Glendy Lewis netting an astonishing five goals on Saturday, October 14 at the GFF National Training Centre (NTC) in Providence, East Bank Demerara.

Abioce Heywood and Glengie Lewis also made significant contributions with two goals each, while Yeneira Kenswil, Kellyann Niles, Odessa Romeo and Niomie Williams each scored one goal.

Potaro Strikers all smiles after their dominant win

In the opening match of the evening, Potaro Strikers had an impressive game by keeping Santos goalless and scoring a total of 12 goals. Olivia Oselmo, Solomie Obermuller, Tytheon Jones each contributed three goals, while Latoya Williams, Duane Williams and Anis Livan added one goal each to secure the victory.

On Sunday, October 15, the excitement continued as another 15 unanswered goals were scored in the match between Guyana Police Force Football Club and Pakuri Jaguars.

Guyana Police Force dominated the game with Jennell Edmonson, Melina Larson and Akeelah Vancounten each scoring three goals, Shanic Thornhill and Lakeisha Williams adding two goals to the scoreline, while Angelisa Larson and Colette Rutherford contributed with one goal each.

“This marks an exceptional beginning for the Women’s League Division One. Fans can anticipate witnessing a remarkable level of competition over the coming weeks as teams strive to claim the title of the inaugural Women’s League Division One champions,” GFF noted.

The Women’s League Division One comprises seven football clubs, including current and former national players.

These clubs are Santos, Potaro Strikers, Fruta Conquerors, Guyana Defence Force, Pakuri Jaguars and Guyana Police Force football clubs.

The champions of the league will be rewarded with a cash prize of G$300,000. Additionally, the second, third, fourth, fifth and sixth-placed clubs will receive cash prizes of G$200,000, G$100,000, G$75,000, G$50,000 and G$25,000, respectively.

The league is scheduled to conclude on November 11. The Women’s League Division One is a platform for the finest female clubs selected from the nine Regional Member Associations of the federation.

Advertisement _____
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.