Lady Jags to battle Dominican Republic in Gold Cup prelims


Concacaf has confirmed essential details about the 2024 Concacaf W Gold Cup, including the complete list of participating women’s national teams, the pots and procedures for the official draw, and the three pairings for the Preliminary Round (Prelims).

The inaugural edition of the region’s new flagship competition for women’s national teams will be played between February 17 – March 10, 2024, across four venues in three US metropolitan areas and includes the participation of CONCACAF and CONMEBOL’s best women’s national teams and some of the world’s top players.

Following the conclusion of the 2023 Road to Concacaf W Gold Cup, which took place during the FIFA Women’s Match Windows of September, October, and November/December 2023 and included the participation of 34 Concacaf Member Associations, nine teams have sealed a place in the 2024 Concacaf W Gold Cup, joining six others that had already secured a berth – United States, Canada and Conmebol’s four guests.

These 15 women’s national teams are (listed in alphabetical order per round):

Prelims (6): Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti and Puerto Rico.

Group Stage (12): Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, United States, and the three Prelims winners.

Guyana secured first place in Group A of League B.

The 2024 Concacaf W Gold Cup will begin with the Prelims at Dignity Health Sports Park Track and Field Stadium on February 17, 2024.

The six national teams participating in this round have been divided into three pairings according to the Concacaf Women’s Rankings as of December 2023. The three pairings are as follows (highest-ranked teams versus the lowest-ranked teams):

M1: Haiti (1) vs Puerto Rico (6)

M2: El Salvador (2) vs Guatemala (5)

M3: Guyana (3) vs Dominican Republic (4)

After single-match elimination play, the winning team in each match will advance to the Group Stage.

A 12-national team Group Stage will follow the Prelims and will be played between February 20-28, 2024, at Dignity Health Sports Park (Group A), Snapdragon Stadium (Group B), and Shell Energy Stadium (Group C).

After round-robin play, the group winners, runners-up, and the two best third-place finishers will advance to the tournament’s Quarterfinals.

The Knockout Stage will commence with the Quarterfinals at BMO Stadium on March 2 and 3, followed by the Semifinals and Final at Snapdragon Stadium on March 6 and 10, respectively. (CONCACAF) 

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.