Deleep Singh unanimously re-elected Essequibo Cricket Board president


Cricket West Indies (CWI) Director Deleep Singh has been unanimously re-elected president of the Essequibo Cricket Board, following its election at the weekend.

Known for his impact in business, including the popular WD’s Hotel and Mall at Charity, as well as being involved in mining, Singh’s re-election marks a continued trust in his leadership.

The newly-elected executive team also includes national senior selector Royan Fredericks as Vice-President, and Ernesto De Mattos and Mustapha Zaman as Zone Vice-Presidents One and Two respectively.

Mirenda Cornelius will take on the role of Secretary, supported by Assistant Secretary Nazeer Mohamed, who is also the national Under-19 Manager.

Members of the new executive of the Essequibo Cricket Board

Rooplall Looknauth assumes the position of Treasurer, with assistance from Adjodha Lall. Basil Persaud, the Caretaker of the ECB Hostel, steps into the role of Public Relations Officer, while Kumar Dass takes charge as Marketing Manager.

Yogeshwar Lall, a former national youth player, brings his expertise to the position of Chairman of the Competitions Committee.

Janice Griffith and Khemraj Surujpaul will serve as Trustees, ensuring the integrity of the board.

The crucial role of Auditor for the ECB has been entrusted to PKF Barcellos/Narine Chartered Accountants, emphasising the commitment to financial transparency and accountability within the organisation.

In his statement upon re-election, Singh expressed a commitment to continuing cricket development.

He emphasised the importance of providing every young man and woman with the opportunities they deserve to play cricket, despite challenges such as transportation, grounds and sponsorship.

Singh also highlighted the need for strengthening of the area committees, and envisioned a collaborative effort to overcome obstacles. He also mentioned plans for the ECB cricket hostel to become operable this year.

Present at the election was CWI Director and President of the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) Bissoondyal Singh and CEO of the GCB, Claude Raphael.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.