Road to World Cup 2026: Guyana in Group D of Concacaf Qualifiers


Guyana has been drawn in Group D of the Concacaf Qualifiers for the 2026 FIFA World Cup, alongside Panama, Nicaragua, Montserrat and Belize.

Concacaf conducted the draw on Thursday, revealing the groups for the second round of qualifying for the World Cup, to be held in Canada, Mexico and the USA in June-July 2026.

Below is an official release from Concacaf

The draw for Concacaf Qualifiers for the 2026 FIFA World Cup took place on Thursday at the Home of FIFA in Zurich, Switzerland, revealing the groups for the Second Round of qualifying.

As previously announced, the Concacaf Qualifiers for the 2026 FIFA World Cup will not include Canada, Mexico, and the United States (they have gained automatic qualification as hosts).

It will be played between Concacaf’s other 32 FIFA affiliated Member Associations, with 30 teams making up the Second Round of qualifying following the results of the First Round.

The First Round of qualifying will take place in March 2024 between the four lowest-ranked Concacaf Member Associations based on the FIFA Men’s Rankings as of December 2023.

The two-legged match-ups are:

British Virgins Islands vs. US Virgin Islands (Playoff 1)

Turks and Caicos Islands vs. Anguilla (Playoff 2)

The winners of each First Round match-up will advance to the Second Round of Concacaf World Cup Qualifying, which will feature 30 teams divided into six groups of five teams.

The teams will play single round-robin matches (two home and two away), with the six group winners and six group runners-up advancing to the Third Round (12 teams total).

The Second Round will be played over the course of two match days in June 2024 and then another two match days in June 2025.

Here are the results of Thursday’s draw for the Second Round of Concacaf World Cup Qualifying:

Group A: Honduras, Antigua and Barbuda, Cuba, Bermuda, Cayman Islands

Group B: Costa Rica, Trinidad and Tobago, St. Kitts and Nevis, Grenada, Bahamas

Group C: Haiti, Curaçao, St. Lucia, Barbados, Aruba

Group D: Panama, Nicaragua, Guyana, Montserrat, Belize

Group E: Jamaica, Guatemala, Dominican Republic, Dominica, Winner Playoff 2 (British Virgin Islands-US Virgin Islands)

Group F: El Salvador, Suriname, Puerto Rico, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Winner Playoff 1 (Turks and Caicos Islands-Anguilla)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.