Essequibo aiming for strong showing at GCB U-15 Inter-County championship


The Essequibo Cricket Board (ECB) is aiming for a strong showing from its cricketers at the Guyana Cricket Board’s Under-15 Inter-county 50-over championship, starting Sunday (January 28) in Georgetown.

The 14-man squad, along with six reserves, is set to showcase the region’s promising young talents over the duration of the tournament, which ends on February 1.

The team comprises several national Under-13 and Under-15 players, as well as ECB Academy players who demonstrated exceptional skills during the trials.

Essequibo will be led by Bomesh Lall

Notably, Bomesh Lall, a national player from Wakenaam, left a lasting impression by scoring an unbeaten century on the final day of the selection process. Makaya Holmes and Justin Dowlin are also national cricketers.

All players came through the academy with the exception of those from the East Bank Essequibo and Bartica programmes, spareheaded by Essequibo Cricket Board’s academy coordinator Kumar Dass.

The ECB is optimistic about the talent and determination showcased by these young cricketers, and is aiming for a strong performance throughout the competition.

See below for full fixtures (all matches start at 09:30h):

Sunday, January 28 Select XI vs Demerara   Queen’s College ground

Sunday, January 28 Essequibo vs Berbice    Malteenoes Sports Club


Tuesday, January 30 Essequibo vs Demerara DCC ground

Tuesday, January 30 Berbice vs Selector XI    Malteenoes Sports Club


Thursday, February 1 Demerara vs Berbice   DCC ground

Thursday, February 1 Select XI  vs Essequibo  Malteenoes Sports Club

See below the full squads:

Berbice: Adrian Hetymer (Captain), Arif Khan (Vice-captain), Arif Bacchus, Antonio DePaul, Chamesh Seenauth, Mathew Pereira, Richard Ramdeholl, Lakeram Singh, Ravin Boodwah, Sohail Mohamed (w/k), Rafael McKenzie, Feaaz Baksh, Gibran Yacoob, Kumulchan Ramnarais and Jayhayden Rohleher.

Select XI: Tameshwar Deonandan (Captain), Danvir Seegobin (Vice-captain), Arif Marimutoo, Shahid Ramzan, Ravid Fredricks, Ethan Silas, Rivaldo Perreira, Aarav Sukhram, Usain Fredricks, Joseph Bolo, Gilbert Griffith, Ahil Hemraj, Joshua Charles, Patrice France and Akash Sooklall.

Essequibo: Elisha Ramdat (Captain), Jathniel Nurse (Vice-captain), Makayah Holmes, Omarin Smith, Bomesh Lall, Eron Benjamin, Timothy Burton, Shazim Mohamed, Darrius Pearson, Zaheer Ramkisson, Justin Dowlin, Dennis Crossman, Jeremiah Melville, Francis Gurahoo and Johnathan Bharry.

Demerara: Emmanuel Lewis (Captain), Parmeshwar Ram, Khush Seegobin, Trilok Nanan, Shamar Apple, Munesh Outar, Mickel Sharma, Brandon Henry, Ravin Singh, Ravin Persaud, Narendra Isurdeen, Anek Haimnarine, Reaz Latif and Darwin LaRose.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.