Kevlon Anderson named new captain of Guyana Harpy Eagles

- Perez and Sankar get maiden call-ups


Batsman Kevlon Anderson will captain the Guyana Harpy Eagles at the upcoming Regional Four-Day Championship.

On Saturday, the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) named a strong unit led by the former West Indies Under-19 batsman, consisting of a few familiar faces and a new crop of players.

Leg-pinner Steven Sankar is among the new faces in the squad, following a breakthrough year with the ball at the domestic level.

Opener Raymond Perez, following his immaculate batting form, which rolled over from 2023, will get his chance to play at the senior level.

All-rounder Ronaldo Alimohamed, returns to the squad after being an injury replacement in 2020 and having played 50-over cricket for Guyana at the senior level.

According to a release from the Guyana Cricket Board, Alimohamed, Perez and Sankar will likely make their debut.

Additionally,  middle-order batsman Akshaya Persaud makes a return to the Harpy Eagles unit,

Matthew Nandu will be Anderson’s deputy as “they lead a well-balanced side featuring a few veterans among the new faces.”

Lead spinner Veerasammy Permaul, Anthony Adams, and West Indies’ latest Test player, Kevin Sinclair, will form a quality spin department.

Fast bowlers Ronsford Beaton, Nial Smith, and Alimohamed will make up the front-line seam unit, adding to their star-studded spin bowler batch.

Test opener Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Nandu, Sinclair, Perez, Anderson, and Persaud will look to carry the Eagle’s batting unit.

Kemol Savory will be the wicket-keeper for the first two rounds until Tevin Imlach returns from West Indies duties.

Savory is also expected to play a vital role in the batting department.

Raymond Perez (left) and Steven Sankar

The Harpy Eagles Head Coach is Ryan Hercules with the Assistant Coach being Garvin Nedd. Ryerson Bhagoo is the Analyst, and Albert Clements is the Manager.

Meanwhile, this year’s Four-Day Championship will significantly increase prize money as the winning team will pocket US$250,000, while the runner-up will receive US$100,000.

Harpy Eagles open their campaign against Trinidad and Tobago Red Force when the Championship bowls off in St. Kitts on February 7.

SQUAD: Kevlon Anderson (C), Matthew Nandu (VC), Nial Smith, Veerasammy Permaul, Antony Adams, Kevin Sinclair, Ronsford Beaton, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Akshaya Persaud, Raymond Perez, Ronaldo Alimohamed, Steven Sankar and Kemol Savory.

More so, the GCB indicated that “Under the new Cricket West Indies ‘Player Movement Policy, ’ each territory must name six priority players.

The Harpy Eagles’ six priority players will be announced shortly. (Modified release from the Guyana Cricket Board) 

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.