Billingy sweeps three titles at Mashramani Table Tennis tournament


Jasmine Billingy had a productive outing at the recently concluded Mashramani Table Tennis tournament, a collaborative effort between the National Sports Commission and the Guyana Table Tennis Association.

Held at the National Gymnasium, Billingy won the Under-15, Under-19, and senior women’s singles titles, while Colin Wong copped the Under-19 title and got second in the ‘B’ Class Open.

Jonathan Van Lange, Kristain Sahadeo, Malachi Moore, Kayden Meusa, Samara Sukhai, Aaron Hokinson, Rainia Belfield, Davanand Boodhoo, and Jody-Ann Blake also emerged victorious in their respective categories.

In the Men’s singles finals, Van Lange defeated Elishaba Johnson 11-9, 7-11, 11-8, 11-7, 7-11 and 11-4.

In the semifinals, Van Lange defeated Orin Hickerson 11-3, 11-13, 11-3, 11-3, 11-9, and Johnson defeated Niran Bissu at 7-11, 11-2, 11-6, 11-9 and 11-9.

The ‘B’ Class Open had 28 players participating, and Sahadeo defeated Wong 11-5, 11-8, 10-12, 7-11, and 11-3 for the title, while joint third went to  Thuraia Thomas and Levi Percival.

Colin Wong

Jasmine Billingy finished first in the women’s round-robin playoff singles with four wins, while second went to Thuraia Thomas with three wins and one defeat.

Samara Sukha got third place with two wins and two defeats, and fourth went to Seona Barker with one win and three defeats, while Akira Watson was winless.

In the girls’ U-19 final, Billingy defeated Watson 11-8, 11-9, and 11-4, while joint 3rd places went to Sukhai and Barker, and in the boys’ division, Wong topped Sahadeo 11-8,11-13, 6-11,14-12 and 11-9. Uman Percival and Malachi Moore were joint third.

Moore was successful in the Under-15 category as he defeated Kayden Meusa 11-5,11-6, and 11-5 to cop gold, while Aaron Hopkinson and Travis Lyken shared third.

Billinggy defeated topped Barker 12-10, 11-6, and 11-3 for the girl’s title as Sukhai and Watson shared third.

Sukhai won the Under-13 title ahead of Shackecy Daman and Rainia Belfield, while Kayden Meusa copped the boys’ title, followed by Rainsford Belfield, Aaron Hopkinson and Edgan Bulkan.

In the 11 years and under boys round robin playoff,  Hopkinson came out on top of the table with three wins, and second place went to Cristiano Jacobis. Ethan John Bulkan finished third, and fourth went to Jared Aderemi.

Reina Belfield finished on top of the table with three wins, second went to Fabianna John, third place to Ava Hall, and fourth was Arwen Skye Cox.

Nine years and under Girl’s Round Robin Finials, Reinia Belfield finished on top of the table with three wins, second went to Fabianna John, third place went to Arwen Skye Cox, and finished fourth Ava Hall.

The novice category saw Davanand Boodhoo defeat Josiah Dyall in the final, while joint third place went to Timothy Bagot and Simeon Singh.

In the ‘C’ Class Open final, Jody-Ann Blake defeated Kayden Meusa at 7-11, 11-5, 11-4, and 11-6. The joint place went to Walter Marcus, who lost to Blake, and Krishna Deolall, who lost to Medusa.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.