Florida Softball Cup: Regal Legends stumble at the final hurdle

- NYSCL Legends new champions


New York Softball Cricket League (NYSCL) Legends won the Legends (Over-50) title at the Florida Cup by a slim margin of four wickets over former champions Regal New York Hustlers at Osswald Park, Fort Lauderdale.

Witnessed by many spectators, Regal NY Hustlers crawled to 122-8 from their 20 overs.

Opener Shameer Sadaloo top scored with a patient 35 from 42 balls (3×4). The NYSCL Legends bowling was steady, with captain Nandalall Doodnauth (2/20), Amad Shahzaman (2/27), and Rafiq Sattaur (2/28) preventing the powerful Regal NY Hustlers from getting away.

Opener Unis Yusuf made 17, while Ramesh Deonarine chipped in with 12. Before the final, Deonarine had 338 runs, including three half-centuries and a magnificent 110.

The Essequibian was later adjudged the Most Valuable Player of the tournament and received a prize for being the leading batsman and scoring a century.

In reply, NYSCL Legends openers dominated the powerplay, scoring 40 runs for the loss of only Tony Fernandes for 12.

After the fast bowlers went for runs, Yusuf got the breakthrough and stalled the run chase momentarily.

Ramesh Deonarine on the go against Orlando Legends

However, opener and Player of the Match in the final, Erapali Sahadeo, kept his side in the hunt for their first Legends win in a final against Regal Legends in seven attempts.

The powerful right-hander smacked five fours and five sixes from 45 balls on his way to 63.

When he was dismissed at the end of the 15th over at 98 for 3, there were anxious moments with 25 runs needed from 30 balls.

In the next over, Yusuf sent back Harischandra Sahadeo at 98 for 4, bringing the required run rate to 6.

Thakur Kumar (19) and Doodnauth (6) survived some close shaves but eventually snapped Regal Legends’ winning streak of 16 consecutive titles in the final over, ending on 123 for 4 for the six-wicket victory.

The over-40 category also crowned a new champion when Canada Legends (172-3) beat Orlando Masters (171-8) by seven wickets with 23 balls to spare. It was the Canadian Legends’ fifth attempt at the title.

MVP of the tournament, Patrick Rooplall once again led the way with a match-winning 86 (55b; 4×8; 6×6). Rooplall scored two centuries to also end as the leading run-scorer.

In the Open category, Orlando All-Stars won a high-scoring encounter over the South Florida Softball Cricket League All-Stars by 54 runs.

The visitors stormed to 240-7, while the home side replied with a spirited effort of 186 for 8. For Orlando, Ricky Sargeant swiped a 13-ball 50 but ended on 60 from 18, while MVP of the Tournament Devon Subhai scored the top score with 66 at the top of the order.

The South Florida Softball Cricket League (SFCL), led by President Anoop Basdeo, received much praise for managing the three-day tournament, attracting 17 teams from Canada, the USA, and Guyana.

The following international softball tournament is in New York at the end of June, organized by the New York Softball Cricket League.

The final leg will be the Prime Minister’s T20 Softball Cup in Guyana, set for October 11, 12, and 13, which the Georgetown Softball Cricket League organizes.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.