West Indies women to tour Pakistan for limited-overs series in April


Pakistan will host West Indies for a white-ball series in April, comprising three ODIs and five T20Is.

The three ODIs, which will take place on 18, 21, and 23 April, will be part of the ICC Women’s Championship 2022-25.

It will be followed by a five-match T20I series from 26 April to 3 May, giving both sides plenty of time to finalize their preparations for this year’s ICC Women’s T20 World Cup.

All Pakistan and West Indies matches will be played at the National Bank Stadium (NBS) in Karachi.

This will be West Indies women’s second tour of the country since 2021. They last visited Pakistan in November 2021 for three ODIs, which they all won.

The upcoming ODI series will be Pakistan’s fourth such women’s series at home, having earlier hosted Sri Lanka (June 2022), Ireland (November 2022), and South Africa (September 2023).

Pakistan is currently at No.3 in the ICC Women’s Championship standings with 16 points, while the West Indies are at No.9 with 8 points.

Pakistan’s last series in the current IWC cycle will be the tour of England in May 2024.

The T20Is will also the two teams to kickstart their preparations for the Women’s T20 World Cup, taking place in Bangladesh in September this year.

“We warmly welcome the West Indies women’s team to Pakistan for the upcoming series. Hosting the fourth women’s championship series at home within the 2022-25 cycle is a testament to PCB’s commitment to promoting women’s cricket and providing our players with opportunities to shine on the international stage,” Pakistan’s Head of Women’s Cricket Tania Mallick said.

“The forthcoming series against West Indies is not just about cricket; it’s about developing relationships and strengthening bonds between cricketing nations.

“With the ICC Women’s Championship 2022-25 coming to a close, the stakes are higher than ever for the Pakistan women’s team to qualify directly for the ICC Women’s ODI World Cup. The team’s current position reflects our determination and dedication, and we aim to collect maximum points from the three championship matches at home.

“Later this year, the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup is also taking place. In light of this event and the team’s recent good performances in the shortest format, we have scheduled five T20Is against West Indies. The T20I series will help the selectors finalise the squad for the mega event.” (ICC) 

Series schedule:

18 Apr – First ODI, Karachi (ICC Women’s Championship)
21 Apr – Second ODI, Karachi (ICC Women’s Championship)
23 Apr – Third ODI, Karachi (ICC Women’s Championship)
26 Apr – First T20I, Karachi
28 Apr – Second T20I, Karachi
30 Apr – Third T20I, Karachi
2 May – Fourth T20I, Karachi
3 May – Fifth T20I, Karachi


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.