Mainstay, Huis T’ Dieren, 8th of May storm into finals of Future Warriors Tapeball


Three remain in the Essequibo leg of the Future Warriors Tapeball tournament for Primary Schools, powered by ExxonMobil.

The Imam Bacchus Ground at Affiance, Essequibo Coast, was a hive of activity as pupils from 12 schools tested their skills with the hope of progressing to the finals.

Mainstay defeated Taymouth Manor to book their spot in the finals after they posted 79-1 and restricted the opposition to 58 in the allotted eight overs.

Kurt Allen led Mainstay’s charge with 33* (4x4s; 1×6), while Brian Tang made 12 (1×4).

Jonathan Dipchand (20) and Rajiv Bhikham  (17) offered some resistance, but Rondaldo Ramascundo (2-16) hampered the chase.

Huis T’ Dieren aced their chase of 77 in 6.2 overs, led by Lokeraj Persaud (22*) and Aaron DeCoast (19*). Aurora Primary posted 77-5, with Nathan McPherson scoring a top score of 16.

The biggest total of the day came from 8th of May as they pilled on 105 without loss, led by superb batting from Benjimyah Fordyce (37 – 4x4s;3x6s) and Orandi Sealey (34- 4x4s; 1×6).

However, Hampton Court gave a valiant chase in reaching 93-5 as Prem Harrypersaud blasted four sixes in a top-score of 30 and Zaheer Khan 28 (2x4s; 3x6s).

Sealey returned to take 3-16 from two overs.

On Sunday, Huis’t Dieren will face Mainstay on the 8th of May from 08:30h, followed by Huis’t Dieren and Mainstay at 10:30h.

The final match pits Mainstay against 8th of May at 13:00h.

The top team will secure a spot in the Champions of Champions tournament in September and earn the chance to be ‘adopted’ by the Guyana Amazon Warriors during their home leg.

Stella Maris Primary (Georgetown) and Cropper Primary (Berbice) are two champions for their district.

The winning team will be gifted a gear bag with numerous equipment for tapeball cricket.

Organised by FL Sport, the tournament aims to expose grassroots talents to cricket, and schools are allowed to field both boys and girls on their teams at their discretion.

The other teams that participated in the tournament were Charity Primary, Queenstown Primary, Suddie Primary, C.V. Nunes Primary, Good Hope Primary, and Fisher Primary.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.