Waramadong, Paruima crowned Upper Maz U-18 football champs


Waramadong and Paruima were crowned female and male champions of the Upper Mazaruni Under-18 football tournament, which concluded recently.

Second-half goals saw Waramadong defeating Jawalla 2-0 in the female final, while Paruima totally outplayed Kamarang 5-0.

After a goalless and tense opening half of the female championship game, Waramadong surged ahead when Ester Lival broke the deadlock with a brilliant solo run in the 48th minute.

The excitement continued when Edilsa Daniels extended the lead with a stunning shot from outside the 18-yard box in the 62nd minute.

Thereafter, Waramadong held firm to cop the title of champions of the female segment.

Paruima made a successful defence of the male title

Paruima showcased their dominance in the male final with an explosive performance against Kamarang. Lot Granes opened the scoring in the 14th minute, setting the tone for the match.

Kimron Thomas added two more goals, while Darnis George and Miguel Gonsalves each contributed to the scoreboard.

Paruima’s impressive 5-0 victory not only crowned them champions, but also highlighted their defensive prowess as they conceded zero goals throughout the tournament.

As the defending champions from the inaugural tournament, Paruima successfully retained their title and cemented their legacy in Under-18 football in Upper Mazaruni.

In the female third place playoff, Kako defeated Kamarang 6-0.

Rovina Morris scored twice (12’, 23’), Grenaive Brown added a goal in the 17th minute, Kim Ronald found the net in the 48th minute, and Haynes Ronald rounded off the victory with goals in the 42nd and 52nd minutes.

The male third place playoff saw Kako edging out Waramadong 2-1. Waramadong’s Andy Larson opened the scoring in the 22nd minute, but Kako quickly responded with goals from Kayleon Williams (24’) and Stephon Williams (34’) to secure the third-place finish.

The tournament also recognised individual excellence with several awards.

In the male division, Miguel Gonsalves from Paruima was named MVP; Gordo Masters of Paruima received the Best Goalkeeper award; Kimron Thomas of Paruima was the top goalscorer with six goals, and Audwin Thomas from Kamarang earned the Young Player Award.

In the female division, Waramadong’s Ester Livan was named MVP, Julianna Thomas from Waramadong won Best Goalkeeper, Rovina Thomas of Kako was the top goalscorer with four goals, and Roslyn Henry from Jawalla received the Young Player Award.

Advertisement _____
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.