Drivers prepped for Grand Prix showdown; corporate support streams in


Participating drivers and teams are busy whipping themselves and machines into shape for this Saturday’s Georgetown Grand Prix at GT Motorsports.

The third such event for 2018 is set to bring together the best go-kart drivers on the land, with all vying to earn much-needed points and aiming for the overall champion tag in the various categories.

The first race is slated to speed off at 18:00h (6pm) and a grand evening of rivalry is anticipated.

Admission to the venue is free and the organisers are encouraging race fans to take advantage of the opportunity to witness local drivers in action, some of whom would be representing Team Guyana at the final leg of the Caribbean Motor Racing Championship at South Dakota next month.

Meanwhile, corporate support has been streaming in for the highly anticipated event.

Already on board are E-Networks, ExxonMobil, Stag Beer, Sun Burst Juices, Superbet, Prem’s Electrical, Karcher, Truck Masters, Nexus Machining and Fabrication Workshop, Optique Vision Care, King’s Jewellery World, Secure Innovations and Concepts, Ticketmaster Travel Agency, Readymixx Concrete, Trophy Stall and Clear Waters.

Mikhail Persaud and Brian Ten Pow working on their machine at GT Motorsports this week (Photo taken from Brian Ten Pow Facebook)

Season recap

In the two Georgetown Grand Prix events this year, the battle was intense and October 27 promises to be no different.

In the Sun Burst Kids Cup, 2017 champion Jeremy Ten Pow is facing a stiff battle from Nathan Rahaman to retain his crown. Just a matter of six points separate the duo after six completed races.

With four wins, Ten Pow has 128 points, but the consistent Rahaman is a close second on 122, including two victories. They are followed by Justin Ten Pow on 87, Paige Mendonca on 81 and Josh Khan on 32.

The Baby Cup is a two-way battle between Ben Phang and Nicholas Sawh, who have both recorded three wins this season. They are both locked on 126 points, with Caleb Paul way back on 51.

Dharmendra Dharmo leads the Easy Cup Rookie on 62 points, but his lead is slim as Naresh Alves and Zack Persaud are close behind in second and third on 51 and 50 points respectively. Sachin Narine has 43 points and Shahab Ghanie 34.

Just three points separate Stefan Jeffrey and Steven Nobrega at the top of the Easy Cup Super group. Jeffrey has 108, while Nobrega is on 105, followed by Kristian Jeffrey (75) and Brian Ten Pow (66).

The X30 Junior is led by Rayden Persaud on 109, followed by John Phang (95), Elan Rahaman (82), Faraud Mohamed (81), Gianni Carpenter (76) and Mikhail Persaud (51).

Shan Seejatan is the leader of the X30 Masters, having accumulated 123 points. He is followed by Haniff Mohamed on 98, Mahendra Boodhoo on 83 and Ralph Persaud on 36.

Mikhail Persaud is a runaway leader of the X30 Senior, having amassed 125 points. Matthew Phang with 87 is in second spot, followed by the Trinidad and Tobago pair Zachary Boodram (76) and Kristian Boodoosingh (74), John Phang (59), Elan Rahaman (50) and Raymond Baksh (41).

Find out what happened in the previous two Georgetown Grand Prix events in 2018.

Event One

Event Two

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.