Dismissal of Public Service staff unlawful, Board of Inquiry recommends reinstatement


A Board of Inquiry established to investigate the dismissal of three workers of the Department of Public Service has recommended their reinstatement.

The recommendations were presented to the Ministry of the Presidency on July 25 and stated that Andrew Grant, Gail Williams and Grace Dazzell, should be immediately reinstated to their posts.

The three employees were dismissed by Minister of Public Service, Tabitha Sarabo-Halley days after she was appointed to the post.

Director-General of the Ministry of the Presidency Joseph Harmon told a post Cabinet press briefing Wednesday that the Board of Inquiry, headed by Mr Lance Carberry, found that the letters issued to the staff were “unlawful.”

Harmon said the Minister was advised on the need to ensure due process is taken in the future when dismissing employees.

According to Harmon, the action to dismiss the employees should have been made by a Permanent Secretary but at the time of the dismissal, the Ministry was without a Permanent Secretary.

On August 1, Karen Vanslytman was appointed as the new Permanent Secretary; efforts are now being made to contact the three employees to have them reinstated, Harmon said.

The staff was reportedly dismissed for allegations of misconduct, corruption and improper behaviour.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.