Chanderpaul open to working with new GCB executives


By Avenash Ramzan

Guyana’s most prolific Test and ODI batsman, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, is keen on working along with the new executives of the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) in helping to create a developmental pathway for the sport.

The 46-year-old Chanderpaul, a veteran of 164 Test matches and 268 ODIs, told News Room Sport on Tuesday that he is willing to serve Guyana’s cricket, and wished the Bissoondyal Singh-led administration “success in moving cricket forward in Guyana and the Caribbean.”

Singh was on Monday voted in as the new President unopposed when the elections were held in Georgetown.

Chanderpaul, who is Guyana’s leading runscorer in international cricket with 11,867 runs in Tests and 8,778 in ODIs, said it is important the development of cricket takes centre stage, indicating his support for the new batch of executives.

“I just want to congratulate the new members of the board and wish them well in leading the effort to build Guyana’s cricket. I am willing to give my support to that process,” Chanderpaul, who scored 30 Test hundreds and 11 in ODIs during a 21-year international career, stated.

Chanderpaul is the current Manager/Assistant Coach of the Guyana Jaguars, the country’s senior national Men’s team. His last assignment was the Colonial Medical Insurance Super50 Cup in February.

Guyana Jaguars made it to the final of that tournament, losing to Trinidad and Tobago Red Force by 152 at the Coolidge Cricket Ground in Antigua.

Below is the full executive of the Guyana Cricket Board

President– Bissoondyal Singh

Vice-President– Hilbert Foster

Vice-President– Rabindranauth Saywack

Secretary– Ronald Williams

Assistant Secretary– Davteerth Anandjit

Treasurer– Pretipaul Jaigobin

Assistant Treasurer– Dr. Cecil Beharry

Public Relations Officer– Claude Raphael

Marketing Manager– Mohamed Baksh

Chairman of Competitions Committee– Shaun Massiah

Chairman of Senior Selectors– Ramnaresh Sarwan

Chairman of Junior Selectors– Andre Percival

Technocrat members with voting rights at executive meetings– Roger Harper and Anil Beharry.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.