$32.4M doled out at Police Awards 


A number of ranks of the Guyana Police Force who went beyond the call of duty and performed exceptionally well this year were recognised and awarded on Thursday at the Force’s Annual Awards.

Awardees received trophies and incentives totaling $32.4 million at the award ceremony held at Eve, Leary Georgetown.

The awards first started in the 1990’s and serve as a morale boost and motivational tool for the ranks. Commissioner of Police (ag) Nigel Hoppie said this tradition will continue for years to come.

The top cop noted that while the police force is normally heavily criticised, people do not recognise the force’s commitment to the safety and security of the country.

Crime Chief Wendell Blanhum presents an award to one of the awardees (Photo: News Room/December 16, 2021)

“Persons tend to forget the exceptional work of the many police ranks, who despite the criticisms and challenges, work assiduously in implementing strategies that see successes,” Hoppie said while noting that more needs to be done to improve the work of the force.

Members of the force were encouraged to strive for professionalism and to avoid corrupt practices. Commissioner Hoppie said this will further enhance the public trust and confidence in the force.

Meanwhile, a team of investigators and detectives from the Criminal Investigations Department (CID) received over $1 million in incentives for solving several high-profile cases.

The murder of prominent doctor, Colin Roach in early November; the March 2021 murder of 11-year-old Anthony Cort; the murder of Indira Lall, 52, a security guard; the massive Brickdam Station Fire, the $18 million gold heist on Wallison Enterprises and Sandrama Raju, the Berbice woman who was set on fire by her husband in September among others.

Commander for Region Three, Errol Watts hands out an award (Photo: News Room/December 14, 2021)

Two children of fallen police officers were also awarded $50,000 each for their participation in a recent regional essay competition.

Several Community Policing Groups that assisted the force in crime-fighting were also recognised for their hard work. Outstanding ranks from the Central Immigration and Passport Office, Tactical Services Unit, Police Band, Police Textile Section and Shop, Presidential Guard, Information Technology Department, and Communications branch were also awarded.

A member of the SWAT Unit receives an award (Photo: News Room/December 14, 2021)

The best cop for regional divisions and branches were awarded $100,000 each along with a trophy. They are as follows;

CID – Detective Inspector Nigel Stephen

Region One – Constable Arrindell

Region Two – Sergeant Benjamin

Region Three – Constable Smith

Region Four ‘A’ – Corporal Reid

Region Four ‘B’ – Sergeant Jadunandan

Region Four ‘C’ – Assistant Superintendent Jermine Dufu

Region Five – Constable Grant

Region Six – Assistant Superintendent Jemaine Bacon

Region Seven – Sergeant Hyman

Region Eight – Corporal Nandram

Region Nine – Constable Osborne

Region Ten – Sergeant Pitama

Other awardees;

Sportswoman of the year – Woman Rural Constable Aaliyah Moore

Sportsman of the year – Rural Corporal Andrew Fowler

Sports Personality – Rural Constable Mark Scott


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.