Smith, Perkins fire West Indies Legends to top of Road Safety World Series table


West Indies Legends notched up a second win in the Road Safety World Series 2022 on Saturday to remain unbeaten in the eight-team tournament in India.

A commanding eight-wicket win over England Legends spurred to the West Indies Legends to top of the table, after they also defeated Bangladesh Legends and had an equal share of the points in a washout against India Legends.

Set a target of 157 by England in Indore, West Indies Legends coasted to victory at 162-2 from 17.5 overs on the back of a solid opening stand between Dwayne Smith and William Perkins.

The right-handed pair took the bowling apart to hand West Indies the maximum two points.

While Perkins had to retire out for 57 off 35 (10x4s), Smith went on to make 73 off 42 (9x4s, 3x6s), his second half-century in as many innings in the tournament.

Skipper Brian Lara (22* off 21) and Guyanese Narsingh Deonarine (3*) were the not out batsmen when victory was achieved. Rikki Clarke took 2-21 for England Legends.

Earlier, Sulieman Benn took 2-26 and Krishmar Santokie 2-38 as England Legends put up 156-5 from 20 overs.

They were led by Clarke’s unbeaten 50 off 25 (2x4s, 5x6s) and captain Ian Bell’s 46 off 43 (3x4s).

In their opening game of the tournament against Bangladesh Legends, West Indies won by six wickets with Santokie (3-7) and Smith (51) being the standouts.

Below is a summary of that game.

SUMMARY: Bangladesh Legends 98 all out from 19.4 overs (Dhiman Ghosh 22*, Alok Kapali 19; Krishmar Santokie 3-7, Sulieman Benn 2-20, Dave Mohammed 2-22) vs West Indies Legends 101-4 from 15.2 overs (Dwayne Smith 51, Kirk Edwards 22*; Dolar Mahmud 1-9, Alok Kapali 1-20, Abdur Razzak 1-23)

West Indies next play New Zealand on September 21, followed by a clash against Australia on September 25.

The tournament features West Indies, Sri Lanka, India, South Africa, New Zealand, England, Bangladesh and Australia. Click to view all squads

India are the defending champions having won the inaugural tournament in 2021 in which West Indies were losing semi-finalists.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.