Greenidge is now Foreign Secretary; Gaskin, Dr Roopnaraine appointed to new posts in Gov’t


The Ministry of the Presidency today announced the following appointments:

Mr. Carl Greenidge has been appointed Foreign Secretary at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs with responsibility for the Department of Frontiers and Territorial Integrity and the Department of Trade and Economic Cooperation.

Mr. Dominic Gaskin has been appointed Director of Manufacturing and Marketing within the Ministry of Business with responsibility for the enforcement of standards, providing assistance to small producers and access to markets, particularly Eastern Caribbean markets

Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine has been appointed Director of Public Service Training within the Ministry of the Presidency with responsibility for training standards at the Bertram Collins College of the Public Service, Guyana Defence Force Staff College and Guyana Police Force Staff College.

Former Minister of State, Joseph Harmon along with Gaskin, Greenidge and Dr Roopnaraine were forced to resign after the court of appeal ruled that dual citizens are illegal in the National Assembly.

The Government has also rehired Harmon as Director General at the Ministry of the Presidency.

The new Minister of Foreign Affairs is Dr Karen Cummings, Dawn Hastings-Williams is the new Minister of State, Haimraj Rajkumar is the Minister of Business and Tabitha Sarabo-Halley is Minister of the Public Service in the Ministry of the Presidency.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.