“Softball cricket is my game” – PM Phillips at launch of T20 Cup


The fourth annual Prime Minister’s Softball T20 Cup was launched Sunday with Prime Minister Brigadier (Rtd) Mark Phillips offering full support for the tournament, which will be played from November 27-29.

Speaking at the launch held at the Everest Cricket Club, Phillips stated, “I am not only a fan of softball cricket; it is my game.”

The Prime Minister said this year’s tournament will bring “some much needed social and psychological relief to our cricket loving fans at a time when the world is facing the unprecedented effects of the novel coronavirus pandemic.”

He added: “It is important we find a means of relief in such difficult times; often we underestimate the need to take care of our mental health, but sport and other recreational activities provide that opportunity for us to have the necessary distraction.”

He further asserted that the 2021 edition will have a female segment.

The Prime Minister shows his skills at the launch of the fourth Prime Minister’s Softball T20 Cup

Prime Minister Phillips heads the National COVID-19 Task Force, which granted permission for the tournament to played under strict rules.

As of November 1, sport activities were allowed to resume, pending the approval of the Minister of Health.

Former Minister of Public Security, Khemraj Ramjattan, who has embraced the tournament in the past, noted activities like these are important since they help to keep “idle minds away from immoral acts.”

President of the Georgetown Softball Cricket League Inc., Ian John, urged teams to abide by the rules and operate in a timely manner.

He said this year they had to restrict the number of teams due to the regulations, however, an entrance fee will still not be charged, but teams will have to finance their own outfits.

The Prime Minister and members of the organising body at the launch on Sunday

The tournament will be played at grounds in Georgetown, with the finals slated for the Everest ground.

Three categories will be contested:  All Stars (Open), Masters (Over-45) and Legends (Over-50), and all three will play for a winning purse of $200,000 and trophy each, while the runners-up cop $50,000 and the corresponding trophy.

Various Smart Televisions will be given to the Most Valuable Players.

All Stars team: Regal All Stars, Speedboat XI, Bartica Rangers, Cosscutter All Stars, Spartan All Stars and Payless All Stars.

Masters: Regal Masters, Wellman Masters, HS Masters, Fisherman Masters and Success Masters

Legends:  Regal Legends, Savage Legends, President XI (New York), Floodlight Legends, Parika Defenders and Rockaway Legends

This year’s sponsors are Banks DIH Limited through its Banks Beer and Rainforest Water, Chung’s Global Enterprise, Danny Persaud, Elegance Jewellery and Pawn Shop, Price Chopper Store, Star Party Rentals, P&P Insurance, Dyan’s Embroidery, Caribbean Airlines, Crown Mining Supplies and Regal Stationery and Computer Centre.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.